• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Moving from iPhone to S2

Hi, I'm new to the world of Android but I'm considering upgrading my iPhone to the Galaxy S2. After some Googling I discovered this site and it seems like there's a great community here. I was wondering if the following questions could be answered:

1. I see there's a lot of battery posts. Is there a genuine issue with the battery? (I'm used to charging my iPhone every night so 18 hours of moderate use would be fine).

2. Is there any advice from previous iPhone users about adapting to Android after using iOS? Anything regrets or things you miss?

3. I know some touch screen devices are regarded as laggy and not as smooth as the iPhone. Is the S2 on par with the iPhone's responsiveness and multi-touch?

Thanks, I realise these may have been covered in other posts on the forum.

Welcome to the forums.

1. Never have an issue with the battery, I have a full charge phone by 5am, I got 40-30% by 8pm with moderate use, sometimes 20% when I play a lot of games.

2. Never had one personally but I do have some friends that have one, and we compare our phones. I feel I can do anything with my phone now, not dictating what I should do with my phone.

3. Based on comparing with the iPhone 4 and iPhone 4S, imho the GS2 is more responsive to the iPhone.

Upvote 0
1. I see there's a lot of battery posts. Is there a genuine issue with the battery? (I'm used to charging my iPhone every night so 18 hours of moderate use would be fine).

I don't think there's an issue with the battery on the SGS2 at all. The thing is it's a very powerful smartphone and it will consume power. The battery could have a larger capacity, I guess, but for me it's not a problem at all: I always have charging facilities nearby and my phone has never completely run down on me.