• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Moving location of Videos and Pictures folders to SD card

• Thread starter Android Question
  • Start date
A

Android Question

I have a Samsung T705 tablet which is rooted.

I also have some dumb apps (from Sony, for their FDR-1000V camera) which cam move videos from the camera only to the default Videos folder.

Due to lack of space in the main storage, I need to move this Videos folder to the SD card.

I have googled for hours and cannot find anything.

Any help much appreciated.

I'm sure it's not the answer you're looking for....And possibly one you are already well aware of.... But here goes:

you can move past videos onto sd card using any file manager app.

That won't change how your app processes future videos...you'll have to keep moving videos periodically as they accumulate

Upvote 0
Sure; I am a programmer and familiar with moving files.

I need to move the location of /storage/sdcard0/movies to ExtSDcard/...whatever.

I am pretty sure this needs a rooted device (which mine is). There is a mass of stuff on google about moving the Download location but that's different and maybe doable in the browser. Also the Pictures location can be configured in 3rd party camera apps. But Movies is tricky... the camera app can be configured for it but a dumb app which has been hard-coded for the default Movies location and - like most Sony phone apps - has no config, can't.

Upvote 0
Two results from google, probably you've already seen them.

1 - This shows how to change default download location from within settings on certain samsung tablets

2 - This xposed module thread discusses forcing everything to internal sd. Somehwere along the line was mention to go the other way by changing module settings: "Default is /storage/emulated/0 change it to /storage/extSdCard"