1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Moving ROM - bringing my homescreens with me?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by williamj1, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    Basically, I spent a lot of time at the weekend setting up a whole set of new homescreens using launcher pro plus. This included lots of widgets being resized, custom icons, custom docks, custom folders and lots of things like minimalist text to open apps.

    Anyway, I now want to either update oxygen to the newest version, or maybe try the new gingerbread miui ROM. Either way, the screens took me ages and I really do not want to have to set them up again from scratch? So, can I back them up completely? So once I install the apps on the new rom, I can somehow restore them?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    If you're already on oxygen, no wipe needed.

    Titanium restore should restore homescreens as should mybackup
     
    williamj1 likes this.
  3. Casanunda

    Casanunda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    Male
    Technical Sales
    Norwich, England
    I did that when I changed ROMs and it worked alright. You just back up your config in the Launcher Pro options menu, which puts a backup onto your SD card, then restore once you're on the new ROM. I would check exactly where the button is but I'm now using Go Launcher so can't do that. Chances are someone else will be able to tell you if you can't find it though.
     
    williamj1 likes this.
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It's in the main menu but doesn't back up widgets
     
    williamj1 likes this.
  5. Casanunda

    Casanunda Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    119
    19
    38
    Male
    Technical Sales
    Norwich, England
    Oh, I thought it had done... My mistake then.
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It's a shame.

    Still backs up lp homescreen settings though
     
  7. williamj1

    williamj1 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    641
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    641
    214
    93
    UK
    Thanks guys.

    In mybackup > under data backup there is an option to backup "android home". Is this what you mean?

    And are you sure mybackup will restore third party launcher homescreens like launcher pro? Would solve my problems if it did?

    But all most people have on their home screens is widgets? Seems a little pointless of launcher pro to not do widgets too?
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Take a nandroid, mybackup then wipe and test. Nothing lost as you can restore your nandroid.

    That is what I meant yeah, but not tested it.
     
  9. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
    Why not test the home screen backup in all 3 - do the Mybackup, TB and LP?
    Then after flashing a new ROM, start restoring them one by one.
    What they say: Cast a wide enough net, and you're bound to catch something... :)
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Unless you're in space... ;)
     
  11. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
    LOL, yeah... :D
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...