1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Multiple Help Needed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by x432hz, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    Let me pre-apologize if this belongs somewhere else. I have been reading endlessly throughout these forums for the past 2 weeks, and I'm feeling completely lost.

    OK, here's my issues, I started off with what was already on the phone, auto downloaded the gingerbread update, rooted the phone and then installed the clockworkmod v5.0.2.6. All was good. (I accidently deleted my backup, and that sucks.)

    I have a lot of apps, so my ultimate goal was to install the Darktremor A2SD for Prevail. I have a 16GB Sandisk SD Card, type 4. I followed the directions exactly, and everything seemed to install ok, but when I tried to open the App through the app-drawer, I kept getting this error:

    [​IMG]

    So I was never able to get into the app to do anything with it. And I did try to update it from the google market, but that had no effect on it. From what I remember I think I chose a 512MB partition size. After this error happened, I tried to do it all over again, but then all of the sudden the Books App was missing from my app drawer.

    So now where I'm at is I tried to ODIN back to stock using SPHM820_EE14_FACTORY, it worked, but then when I tried to install the Gingerbread update that the phone auto-downloaded, I got this message during the install:

    [​IMG]

    Just for the heck of it, I took out the 16GB SD Card and put in the old 2GB one that came with the phone, and now I'm ready to do the next thing, whatever that is that you guys suggest.

    So, I feel like I don't know what I'm doing, I have so many choices as far as Roms go from here on this site, but I was trying to start over with the Factory Stock Roms first and build up from there, but I'm having this new gingerbread install error, which I don't understand.

    Please tell me what you all suggest I should do at this point.

    thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kcsuper

    Kcsuper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    189
    25
    43
    CT
    I would Odin to EJ06...then you don't need to do a manual update - then you can successfully change roms if you want.
     
  3. inigomontoyasr

    inigomontoyasr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    383
    215
    68
    The installer removed books to make room for the necessary files. It was probably correct at that point. You can then redownload books if you use it.

    Rooted stock gingerbread takes up too much ROM for a2sd to install.

    If rooted stock is all you want right now, there is an Odin image in the a2sd thread with cwm and a2sd pre-installed.
     
  4. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    Well this is where I'm kind of confused. I don't really know what I want. I'm not sure of the differences between the different types that are available here. For example, there is the normal factory stock, then there is this HROARKERNEL, then there is this Chin Checka version, then there is this Koumajutsu version. I really don't know enough yet to understand all the differences, but here is what I Want:

    I want the Gingerbread, rooted, with the Clockwork Mod, and I really need to fix the app-install space issue, since I have so many apps I want to install. So for that I guess I need the Darktremor A2SD for Prevail...... right?

    so what do you suggest for what I want.
     
  5. Kcsuper

    Kcsuper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    189
    25
    43
    CT
    I suggest flash Gingerbread EJ06 rooted w/cwm5...I use "link2sd" to transfer ALL apps to sd card - that takes care of any memory issues I used to have :)
     
  6. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    But I thought the Darktremor A2SD was supposed to be better since it mapped the links differently and did other things better, sorry for not being specific, but I'm remembering from the page it's listed on where inigomontoyasr states: "link2sd makes a link for each apk, each link takes up some room a2sd makes only one link for the whole app folder, saving the maximum amount of space"

    Can anyone address the 2 different errors I listed above?

    thanks.
     
  7. inigomontoyasr

    inigomontoyasr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    383
    215
    68
    it's preference really.

    some people like to use link2sd for the extra control and so they can leave some apps on internal storage. widgets and apps that use background data may use more battery when run from sd card. i simply convert those apps to system apps and use the ext for games and such.

    if you use link2 and aren't happy with the storage available you can switch to darktremor and vice-versa. just make a nandroid and you can quickly change back if you don't like something. it's good practice to make nandroid backups or odin packer backups before you change anything just in case something goes to pot.
     
  8. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    I went and installed the gb-rt-cwm5-kk1-a2sd.zip, but I did not like it. It installed flawlessly, but I would rather start fresh and customize everything myself. So I tried installing via Odin the SPHM820_EE14_FACTORY.zip but after the Gingerbread update downloaded I still had the same error as above during the install, and then it said that the sytem was up to date, but still had froyo installed.

    So I went back to Odin and then installed the EE14 STOCK VERSION (SPHM820_EE14_FACTORY), Rooted it, then installed CWM. But I keep getting these wierd Google Voice Authentification errors not authenticating or something like that.

    I don't understand why I'm having problems, I am following the directions exact. But it seems since I lost the original install from the phone and started dealing with the Roms here, I've been having problems.

    I want to go back to stock, which I guess I just did, but is there an original Factory Stock that comes directly from Samsung?

    I wish I never lost the original install. I'm not sure what to do at this point, getting frustrated.
     
  9. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    Actually I'd like to correct what I said above, I actually did kind of like the install of the gb-rt-cwm5-kk1-a2sd.zip, but I do not understand the difference between Kernels. What is the koumakernel that's installed with it compared to the original kernel? And I would like to be able to uninstall the ADW Launcher, but can't figure out how to do it.

    And the error I was talking about above was : Google Talk Authentification Failed - this keeps popping up out of nowhere, I have no idea why.

    any thoughts on everything I'm talking about?

    thanks.
     
  10. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    try this link
    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-pre...409229-google-talk-authentication-failed.html
     
  11. inigomontoyasr

    inigomontoyasr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    383
    215
    68
    the stock images in the odin thread are exactly as the phone came out of the packaging from boost.

    the rooted ones are also the same but pre-rooted so you don't have to use the one-click root. saves a step.

    the odin image in the a2sd thread is gingerbread-rooted-clockworkmod rev.5-koumakernel1.0-a2sd enabled which is exactly what you asked for in your previous post so let's say i made this just for you. also it's a pretty clever naming scheme, eh?

    it's actually also deodexed (which frees up space in the system partition and allows for easy themes at uot kitchen) and adw launcher in place of the stock launcher just because i broke the stock launcher when i deodexed it and got lazy at that point. instead of fixing it i just replaced it with a look-alike. all other stock apps are there including the bloat.

    koumakernel adds support for ext4 file systems and init.d scripts which are used by a2sd to link your app folders with some degree of safety. it also adds support for boot animations and is considerably smaller in size than the stock kernel. "streamlined" if you will to free up some of our precious memory. it has its own thread and possibly it's own phone by now. it's quite popular.

    the way i got a2sd to work with the stock kernel is kind of a dirt hack way of doing it. one script calling on others and such. makes me feel dirty just talking about it. koumakernel makes it work the way it is intended.

    to change launchers you install the one you like, move it to /system/app and remove /system/app/adwlauncher.apk. then clear dalvik-cache and reboot. there are other ways but this seems the most straight-forward.
     
  12. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    Ahh.... you guys rule. Answers, thankyou.
    'been reading, reading, reading and reading and getting nowhere, and all of you just cleared it all up for me. Thankyou so much.
    I think I'm going to go back to the gb-rt-cwm5-kk1-a2sd.zip with the pretty clever naming scheme.
    Got it. I feel so happy ... lol
    Now I know what I want, confusion deleted.
    THANKS.
     
  13. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    Ok im confused again, spoke too soon. I went and resinstalled the gb-rt-cwm5-kk1-a2sd.zip using the easy 2step method, everything is fine, the books app keeps force closing, but im not concerned about that. Since I can't get the default home app, and you have Adw installed, I want to install my own purchased version of Adw that I have, ADW Launcher EX.

    I use to use them both kind of like an extra desktop extension. Should I just leave yours installed and install my EX version from the market as normal, or is there a different way it needs to be done altogether?

    I tried to delete it how you explained above, but it would not work. Like I said, I use to use them together kind of like switching between two desktops, but since you did not fix/include the default, I would rather just use my purchased EX version instead then.

    Whats the best way to handle installing mine as I asked just above?

    Thanks.
     
  14. inigomontoyasr

    inigomontoyasr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    383
    215
    68
    What happens when you try moving your EX version to system?
     
  15. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    After I installed EX from the market, im not sure where it was installed to.
     
  16. Kcsuper

    Kcsuper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    189
    25
    43
    CT
    Unless you changed the directory (doubt it) it should be in your /data/app folder.
     
  17. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    Ok, using Root Explorer I found my EX version in the /data/app folder, but when I tried to move it it said I could'nt due to file system being read only, so how do I change that first?

    By the way: is their an official name you guys call the "gb-rt-cwm5-kk1-a2sd.zip" file, so if I'm asked what mod/kernel I use, what would I call it?
     
  18. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    if your using root explorer, that particular one there is a button on the upper right that says R/O or R/W you touch the screen there to change that.

    R/O=read only R/W=Read and write

    The rom gb-rt etc is I think inigo's version most just call it rooted gingerbread with cwm and a2sd
     
  19. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    I moved my ADW EX version's .apk file from data/app to system/app and then deleted your installed ADW .apk file, then I opened A2SDGUI, clicked on the Dalvik tab, and just when I was about to click on "Rebuild Dalvik Cache", the A2SDGUI app itself restarted on it's own and went back to the opening screen and had the "working" box running. After that stopped, I went back to the Dalvik tab, clicked on "Rebuild Dalvik Cache" and then it rebooted itself.

    On the Reboot, it stayed on the screen that just says "Kouma Kernel" for about 15 minutes, so I popped out the battery, then went into the recovery menu (volup+power) and cleared the Dalvik Cache then rebooted the system. All seemed good and it booted all the way up.

    As soon as it booted up all the way, it gave me an error saying that I was "Low On Space" & "Phone Storage Space is Getting Low". Before I did any of that stuff, I had about 103 MB Free Internal Storage. Now it's saying I have only 6.34 MB free. Everything was working/running great before I tried the ADW change. I do have a lot of apps installed, and as far as the A2SD is concerned, I have a 1024 MB partition (whatever type the initial install made on it's own) and I have the Dalvik Cache moved onto the sd card ext and zip align is on.

    It's acting kind of wacky, it's seems real slow and the screens are freezing and taking a while to load, and the entire desktop, or home screen keeps disapearing once and a while, so I guess you guys probably know what went wrong, what maybe I did wrong or what I should try next before going back to my recovery menu and installing my Nandroid backup.
     
  20. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    my best guess you accidently put the davlik-cache back on the system rom rather then have it in the ext partiton.
    open a2sd gui go to davilk and move to sd.
     
  21. inigomontoyasr

    inigomontoyasr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    383
    215
    68
    this.

    wiping dalvik from cwm with a2sd installed removes the symlink. once anything is moved it should be handled with the app or command line from then on.

    @optimus, you're still quicker than me. quick and correct.
     
  22. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    In the GUI it says that my Dalvik ison sd-ext.

    Do I need to start researching about symlinks now? .....lol
    -honestly not sure what you mean or what I need to do.


    Inigomontoyasr:
    If I was to make a nice donation could I get u to be unlazy and fix it?
    lol
     
  23. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    In the GUI, in the dalvik tab, select 'move and rebuild' the phone will reboot. And will rebuild the dalvik on the ext
     
  24. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    This is linked to the deodexed stock launcher. I have had mine deodexed since gingerbread update came out I thought I was the only one that liked the "vanilla" stock launcher :D
    http://localserver.no-ip.biz/Public/Launcher2.apk
     
  25. x432hz

    x432hz Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    464
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011

    Jul 1, 2011
    464
    37
    73
    Male
    Session Bassist
    City of Brotherly Hate
    I got lost as of a few posts ago. Pretend im a nube. All this deodexing talk is getting me more confused, the more I go back and read in fact, im falling further down the confusion hole.

    I have made several attempts at this, each time the same result:

    Install adw-ex from my market account, move it, delete yours, open a2sd gui rebuild dalvik then kt reboots. Then it gets stuck on the kouma kernel screen. On the last attempt I let it sit for 2 hours, and nothing. At that point I take out battery and tried going into cwm upon boot to clear dalvik that way, but then I wind up with the memory-low problem I stated above.

    So now what I did was restore my nandroid backup and also bought the paid donation version of the a2sd gui. I tried installing the launcher2.apk you provided above, but my screen went black and froze, im guessing I was not supposed of had actually try to install it, but probably just move it, right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...