1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Multitouch Keyboard from DX on Inc

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thirteen113, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. thirteen113

    thirteen113 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    163
    36
    43
    Student
    Texas

    Advertisement

  2. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    Score!!! This might be a challenger for Swype..
     
  3. lexluthor

    lexluthor Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    4,161
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    4,161
    402
    283
    Long Island, NY
    So who's actually tried it?

    Does it work like swpye where it's just an additional keyboard you can change to and from or does it overwrite the stock kb?

    What exactly does multitouch kb allow us to do?

    Putting multitouch aside, how does this keyboard feel, layout/accuracy wise?
     
  4. 06Stang

    06Stang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    280
    27
    43
    Awesome. Can they rip the processor and package. That apk too
     
  5. Reddman6988

    Reddman6988 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    84
    6
    16
    Michigan
    I am pretty curious about getting this or not. I doubt I would give up swype though
     
  6. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    Thank you for the tip. I have to tell you, though, that I'm going to wait to see what some folks say about the about first before I test it. I've already reset my phone twice, so I want to be more careful about what software my phone cavorts around with!
     
  7. slackfumasta

    slackfumasta Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    100
    31
    43
    I'm not sure why I would want this instead of Swype. Can anybody enlighten me?
     
  8. 06Stang

    06Stang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    280
    27
    43
    Way way better and faster than stock and slightly better for me than shapewriter
     
  9. acidarmitage

    acidarmitage Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    160
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    160
    17
    38
    i thought our keyboards were already multitouch?
     
  10. iamsupreme

    iamsupreme Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    IT / APS
    Peoria, AZ
    Nope. Our keyboards can only register consecutive keystrokes. When you start typing fast, it tends to miss characters.

    This new keyboard rocks. No tactile feedback :( Yeah, I'm a sucker for feedback on keypress. Otherwise, this multi touch keyboard is super quick!
     
  11. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    This is true multitouch. You can hold the shift key and hit a letter, etc. I;m downloading to my phone right now, but I am in a fringe-service area so it's taking a while (4.3MB)

    I will update you as soon as I've tested it out!
     
  12. 06Stang

    06Stang Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    280
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    280
    27
    43
    Vibrate isn't working. Keyboard white instead of grey it black. Has autospace. Really neat. Not hitting the period button in regular view any more
     
  13. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    Vibrate doesn't work but this keyboard is sweet! One other thing is that the & in the symbols shows as %amp for me (might have been from the download, if nobody else has this issue). Other than that I really like the keyboard. Tap to correct, word prediction is fast and accurate, too.

    I recommend trying it out!
     
  14. bnx

    bnx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    33
    3
    16
    i just installed it and its pretty nice. i was used to the vibrate but i can get used to not having it too. what i really like is i can quickly switch between this and the stock one by touching and holding.
     
  15. jprow507

    jprow507 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    268
    13
    38
    Cool .... awaiting further impressions
     
  16. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,933
    Posts:
    32,959
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    32,959
    25,351
    3,933
    Male
    ok.. i gotta try it!
     
  17. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    Would someone else look at their symbols page and see if your & says "&amp"?
     
  18. gs13

    gs13 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    52
    7
    16
    ohio
    Installed. Works great. I'm not a Swype user, so this is cool for me. The ampersand key shows up as "&amp" for me. Not a big deal, but I can foresee this bugging me in the long run.
     
  19. omgitswes

    omgitswes Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    166
    0
    35
    no vibrate :(
    is there no option to turn it on? I'm going to miss that
     
  20. Oddity

    Oddity Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    79
    23
    18
    Wow this keyboard is awesome! If it had sound and vibrate and didn't have that "&amp" problem I would like it better than Smart Keyboard Pro.
     
  21. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    Swype > This keyboard > HTC Stock Keyboard.
     
  22. SBrooks1

    SBrooks1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    47
    2
    36
    Don't see any reason to switch from Swype
     
  23. AJ McKay

    AJ McKay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    246
    99
    53
    Yep.
     
  24. jakeh0

    jakeh0 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    165
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    165
    42
    43
    i wish i could use swype in portrait mode and this in landscape.

    is there any possible way to do this?
     
    QMeli907 likes this.
  25. TKB5

    TKB5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    37
    1
    16
    i got it. i like it but i think swype is still better
     

Share This Page

Loading...