1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Music library will not update.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Volti, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. Volti

    Volti Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Hey. I've only just gotten this problem and I thought this would be the best place to go... I have a feeling it has a really Obvious and easy soloution... But I can't find it for the life of me!

    Okay, basically, I use Win Amp Pro on my PC, and Win amp on my DHD. When I tell the program to sync to the usb device, it does so. So when I go into the folders of my DHD, the music films are Actually there. But up until recently, Any new music I add to the phone, are not being found or displayed in the Music players On the phone? The files are on the device, But the device seems to think other wise!

    I have tried using Win amp which Is what I normally use, and the built in MP3 player. Not one of them is picking up the new music! The files are in the correct directory, The rest of the music I added before now works fine... It is the right file type. Just everything added up until a certain point just is not being found!

    Is there any way to force the phone to re build the music library? Anything along those lines? I have tried a soft reset by removing the battery, I have tried Un mounting and re mounting the SD card. I just dont get it. Its really frustrating!

    I'm looking forward to your obviously responses that I should have found out myself... :rolleyes:

    Thank you for your help and time
     

    Advertisement

  2. fberus

    fberus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    12
    0
    35
    IT Professional
    Jacksonville, FL
    I'm geting a bad feeling about the use of Android. This person posted this question a month ago and there is not a single reply. I'm having the exact same problem the first time I'm attempting to use the device, so I know it's not uncommon. Is the Android community really this dead?
     
  3. eddiewawa

    eddiewawa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    645
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    645
    103
    93
    IT 'Anal'yst
    Leeds
    Personally the last post is a lil harsh,end of the day yes this is a forum but it isn't a full blown support site gosh! Most of the time,as much as some would like to,we don't know every answer. and anyways, technically the first port of call is usually HTC support.

    In regards to this issue,there has only been one occasion where my built in HTC music app doesn't pick up music I transfer over or download,I just reboot and its ok. It is an odd behaviour,such as missing created playlists that I've created going missing!

    Sorry this couldn't be more helpful,there might be several factors towards the issue,rogue apps,random roms etc
     
    fberus likes this.
  4. fberus

    fberus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    12
    0
    35
    IT Professional
    Jacksonville, FL
    Apologies. I didn't mean to sound harsh - just concerned. More so, I certainly didn't mean to criticize anyone in particular or the forum. I was only attempting to point out that this seems like a pretty basic problem that has gone answered for a month. It wasn't meant to be a complaint, just an observation. I think we can all point to hundreds of great technologies that for one reason or another didn't catch on. For example, with the existence of Linux, why does Windows even still exist? But again, I apologize if I offended anyone.

    BTW, you have supplied the first step in attempting to fix the problem. i.e. reboot the device. I'm embarrassed to admit that I haven't tried that. I don't have the device with me at the moment but I will certainly try that as soon as I get home.

    Thanx
     
  5. fberus

    fberus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    12
    0
    35
    IT Professional
    Jacksonville, FL
    Unfortunately, reseting the device didn't work. :p
     
  6. eddiewawa

    eddiewawa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    645
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    645
    103
    93
    IT 'Anal'yst
    Leeds
    No harm done dude, as some of the guys here mentioned recently, forums like these generally attract users where they HAVE issues and not then everything is fine&dandy'O lol

    So reboot doesnt work...huh?

    other questions:
    have you at anypoint rooted you phone? (just want to establish we're all working from the same page here...)
    if so have you installed a custom rom?
    have you tried another music player available from the market? poweramp as an example to see if the new songs are picked up?
    Is the format of the new mp3's...actually.mp3 or in a format that by default the player recognises?
    ever tried to cut the music out of your SD card onto your PC, see if the DHD's music library is empty and then pasting back a sample of mp3s' back onto your SD card and seeing if the music app picks them up after a refresh? e.g. /sdcard/music

    cheers!
     
  7. fberus

    fberus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    12
    0
    35
    IT Professional
    Jacksonville, FL
    Actually the device is an Archos 43 tablet. I have a company supplied blackberry so I needed a media player and personal email device; and the 43 is the perfect blend of features to compliment the blackberry. Anyhow, I figured out how to make the device delete the media db and rebuild it. Unfortunately the documentation loaded on the device isn't very good/complete (silly French) so I had to find some time where I could sit down and acquaint myself with this new toy.

    The settings >> storage >> update media library appears to be a placebo. But if I go to settings >> repair & formatting >> reset multimedia library it actually rebuilds the library and all my albums/songs appeared. Another mystery solved. I guess I need to learn which features are base features included with the Android OS and which were added by the device manufacturer.

    Even though I'm an IT professional and have written tons of code for embedded systems, I don't want to make this thing a hobby - that's what I didn't like about Rockbox - to much time and research to become proficient with its cryptic interface. To me, it's an appliance (black box) and I just want it to work without getting a PhD in Android-ology. I'd rather spend the time restoring my old Corvette. ;-)

    Thanx for the tips.
     
  8. dvhttn

    dvhttn Android Expert
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010

    Oct 17, 2010
    1,525
    281
    173
    I wish ....
    Sunny Cornwall
    You don't have a dodgy SD card do you? By that I mean one that says it's 16GB, for example, but is actually a fake? Just a thought .....

    Personally I use Poweramp (on my DHD) and that has a 'rescan folders' option I use after a sync. Never failed yet.

    Dave
     
  9. josepboc

    josepboc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    Go to Settings >> Applications >> Manage Applications >> Running >> Music >> Clear Data
     
    blsisko likes this.
  10. blsisko

    blsisko Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011

    Jun 2, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Now, even though I have an Atrix, I was having problems with my playlists and with the music player seeing songs, new ones or moved ones, and thus did a search in the forums. This came up and... Wow, this fixed everything!

    10000000 thanks!
     
  11. amitai.irron

    amitai.irron Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011

    Sep 18, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Midway through reading this thread, I decided to try the following:

    Settings >> Storage >> Unmount SD card

    followed, naturally, by:

    Settings >> Storage >> Mount SD card

    Obviously, this only works if the music is stored on an SD card, and it might have some side effects, like other apps losing their data in-flight. However, this worked for me. Next time I will try clearing the music application data.
     

Share This Page

Loading...