1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips music player plays EVERYTHING

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rob_A, Jun 17, 2010.

  1. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    I've searched for a solution to this but everyone just says to buy another music player, which I really want to avoid having to do.

    I've installed a few games that put sound effects on the SD card. The music player adds these to the playlist so I'm getting random sounds effects mixed with my music. I cannot find a way to tell the music player to JUST USE THE MUSIC FOLDER. Is there something I am missing or an add-on for the stock player?

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. RaiseUp151z

    RaiseUp151z Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    200
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    200
    32
    43
    Bump

    Sent from Evolcious
     
  3. MyFishWagon

    MyFishWagon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    Find where these sound effects are being stored. (you can use astro for this) Then create a file in that folder called ".nomedia" (without quotations)

    Your music player should no longer read these files.

    Sent from my Evo, using Tapatalk !
     
    unrealliving, AirdaleDucky and Rob_A like this.
  4. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    Yes, but then the app that uses those sounds will be screwed up, right?
     
  5. MyFishWagon

    MyFishWagon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    Well it shouldnt. The file ".nomedia" is supposed to only tell the native android music player NOT to look in that folder for sounds.

    Its working well for me :)
     
    Rob_A likes this.
  6. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York

    But doesn't the app that uses those sound effects look in a specific folder (designated by the programmer)? And if that folder has been moved (inside the .nomedia folder) wouldn't that create problems for the app?

    Example: Hero of Sparta. Most of the sound effects are stored on the SD card.
     
  7. erikivy

    erikivy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    154
    37
    63
    He didn't say change the name of the folder. He said create a file IN the folder called ".nomedia". This tells the OS not to include the folder when searching for media. It shouldn't affect the app that uses the folder.
     
    Rob_A likes this.
  8. Rob_A

    Rob_A Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    825
    216
    113
    New York
    oh, I see. lol

    Duh.

    Thanks m8. :D
     
  9. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    This isn't working for me. The stock music player and Music Mod are both picking up the game sounds. What kind of file is the .nomedia supposed to be?
     
  10. Kaiosama

    Kaiosama Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Restart the phone and when It boots back up the files shouldnt be picked up by the music player.
     
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    823
    Posts:
    11,820
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    11,820
    4,751
    823
    From what I've read it's just a .txt file.
     
  12. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    Reboot didn't work. :thinking:
     
  13. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    Nothing is working for me.

    Uninstalled the game with the sounds and uninstalled Music Mod incase it was interfering. Re-installed the game and added .nomedia txt file to the folder with the sounds. Opened the stock music app and it sees the sound files still. Re-booted. Still sees them. Added a .nomedia to each parent folder, still sees them.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    Ok, figured it out. I was creating a txt file called .nomedia but you have to remove the txt extension. It's not a .txt file it's a .nomedia file with out any extension. So simply, ".nomedia" not ".nomedia.txt".
     
  15. QuickDraw

    QuickDraw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    328
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    328
    29
    43
    Disabled Veteran - USMC

    :) I may be wrong but, isn't everything on the right side of the "." by definition the extension name, so ".nomedia" would in fact be the extension name.


    Again, I'm thinking in relation to DOS/WINDOWS/typical file extensions...etc., so could be/probably am WRONG. :) :thinking:
     
  16. Mabster

    Mabster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    467
    127
    68
    Bay Area, CA
    No, you're right. Everything on the right of the '.' is the extension. I was using notepad in Windows 7 to create the file and it was automatically adding the .txt extension to the file.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...