1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Music Quality

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CJbeChillin, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. CJbeChillin

    CJbeChillin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Hey Everyone,

    Coming over from a blackberry. The sound on the Maxx hd sounds different than the blackberry, but to me almost worse. The vocals are way toned down. This happens on Pandora as well as on songs I transferred over. Anyone else experiencing this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xelios

    Xelios Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    419
    57
    53
    Yeah, it's pretty fricken stupid IMO. Go into your settings>sound. At the bottom there's the music effects or something, just click on wired stereo or headset, and turn off the equalizer. I believe that's the path on ICS. It's Google's 3D stereo stuff that completely toned down the vocals. Not sure why it's on by default. It absolutely ruined my music and I hated my phone until I figured it out. Hope this helps you
     
    jroc, ALurker and CJbeChillin like this.
  3. CJbeChillin

    CJbeChillin Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012

    Nov 6, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Awesome! Thanks!

     
  4. Xelios

    Xelios Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    419
    57
    53
    Yup, no problem.
     
  5. msatow

    msatow Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012

    Nov 3, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Today was the first I listen to music since turning off the equalizer. It did make a difference....way better....Thanks for the info.
     
  6. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    570
    162
    93
    Arizona
    This seems to be gone with the Jelly Bean update......??
     
  7. Xelios

    Xelios Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    419
    57
    53
    Yeah I just don't get it, it's like they want us to listen to music with their crap trashy music ruining presets.

    Anyway here's what I've found, you have to go into Google Play music and start playing a song. Once it's playing, hit the menu button and open equalizer, it'll be there. Seems to be universal across every player, so once you disable it, you won't have to worry about it on any third party music app.
     
  8. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    570
    162
    93
    Arizona
    Will it work on Youtube videos?
     
  9. Xelios

    Xelios Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    419
    57
    53
    Yeah it seems like they just hid the equalizer into Google Play for some reason rather than the sound settings. I can understand everything just fine with it disabled.
     
  10. chris4x4

    chris4x4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    570
    162
    93
    Arizona
    Great!! Thank you!
     
  11. Ag76

    Ag76 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    83
    4
    16
    I must be doing something wrong because I don't see it in my menu options under Play Music. Am I looking at the right app?
     
  12. Xelios

    Xelios Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    419
    57
    53
    No problem.

    EDIT: Ag, play a song first. It will only show when a song is playing.
     
  13. Ag76

    Ag76 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    83
    4
    16
    Thanks Xelios...I actually was playing a song as you said, but somehow ended up in the playlist whose menu is different. I haven't quite figured out this thing out. I can get songs to play, but that about it. That's why I hang out on this forum. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...