1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support music transfer trouble

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chefster74, Feb 12, 2011.

  1. chefster74

    chefster74 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    76
    7
    16
    Male
    Private professional chef working for the same fam
    Houston, TX
    Good morning
    I've been having a problem adding music to my sd card. Yes, I'm using a 32 gig card, but have added music on it already. When I have my 860 plugged into my pc and I go to the folder marked my music and pull up my music from my pc it seems to be doing a transfer. However once the transfer is finished and I unplug the phone from the pc the music isn't there. I'm not even trying to transfer Itunes music, just my music which I keep separate from Itunes. Like I said, I've already got some music on the card, and don't believe I did anything different lately. I'm using Power amp and an hour ago I even purchaced the Poweramp app. Any suggestions?
    Thank you in advance! I really love this forum and all of you who spend your time helping others!!!!
    Chef Dave
     

    Advertisement

  2. CRUMBsnatcher

    CRUMBsnatcher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    187
    43
    43
    KS
    Try going to the media folder on the sd card, making a folder called music, and putting everything in there. And plus, I thought Ascends only supported up to 16gb? Well either way, keep us updated.
     
    chefster74 and KOLIO like this.
  3. chefster74

    chefster74 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    76
    7
    16
    Male
    Private professional chef working for the same fam
    Houston, TX
    Thank you for the info, Crumbsnatcher. I did as you mentioned and still no luck. It shows that the files are transfering, but when I disconnect the usb and turn on Poweramp the music isn't there. Just shows an empty file when I plug back in and go to the my music. I am aware that many folks think that a 32 is too big, but I believe I've seen Joser say he's also running one. Somewhere, I wish I could remember where, in December I had read that I could use a 32 so I ordered one. Since my post this morning I've messed around with doubletwist. It seems complicated and a pain in my butt. I thought that maybe I could only load files in mp3 format, but not even that seems to be the case. Maybe I need a player that will play all formats since it appears that I have some music in mp4 and windows media player. I really just don't want to drag an Ipod around and love my bluetooth stereo headphones. I am totally open to any further suggestions!
    I'm going to go for a motorcycle ride and forget about this for a while.
     
  4. Nesdroid

    Nesdroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011

    Jan 2, 2011
    46
    5
    16
    have u formated the sd card with the phone before putting music in it?
     
  5. CRUMBsnatcher

    CRUMBsnatcher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011

    Jan 22, 2011
    187
    43
    43
    KS
    Maybe try to rescan in poweramp? Or download tunewiki, which I think is better anyways. It's been a while since I used poweramp, but I remember if you go to settings(in the app) and find something that says rescan folder/files, it recognizes new music files.
     
  6. chefster74

    chefster74 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    76
    7
    16
    Male
    Private professional chef working for the same fam
    Houston, TX
    Ok, here's the end results. I did format my card, and even re-formated to double check. It appears that while I did buy a 32 gig card, it must be a very low class and just won't play with my AssEnd. So I stuck it in my camera and it seems to be working fine. I picked up a 16 gig, class 10 card and that's solved my problem completely. I wish I could remember where I had read that I could use a 32 gig card, maybe I had been staring at the Huawei flower too long, lol.
     
  7. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    32s don't work. Says so in The Manual.
     
  8. efeigenbaum

    efeigenbaum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    297
    45
    63
    Male
    Lincoln, NE
    Why didn't you just try taking the card out of the phone, putting it into your card reader and copying the files that way?
     
  9. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,157
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL
    The phone wont read the 32gb. The music is on there, just can't be read.
     
  10. efeigenbaum

    efeigenbaum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    297
    45
    63
    Male
    Lincoln, NE
    I have a Class 4 16 gb card in mine and it works great.
     
  11. chefster74

    chefster74 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    76
    7
    16
    Male
    Private professional chef working for the same fam
    Houston, TX
    Ok, I was just reading the thread "Phandroid---Huawei Ascend #14 Best Android Phone". When I clicked on the Ascend I happened to look at specs. There it clearly states it'll work with up to a 32 gig card. I knew I had read it somewhere. While I'm going to stick with my 16, I wish the 32 had worked. I suppose it would've if I had bought a higher class.
    Hardware/OS Operating System: Android 2.1 Internal Memory: 256 MB External Memory: microSD/SDHC up to 32 GB ROM: 512 MB Processor: 600 MHz
     
    Michellemybell likes this.
  12. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    I think a lot of these sites are not basing it off fact. Because I've seen a whole bunch of different sites saying different things. I really think if it's not on the actual Huawei site, We really can't say for sure.
    Huawei Ascend Specs, Features (Phone Scoop) Says 16GB
    Huawei Ascend full specs - Phone Arena Also 16GB.

    I've also called a Metro Representative, They said that the phone CAN support a larger sized card but that it has been shown to give many complications and issues. What the guy told me, From what I understood anyways, Is that a larger card will work but the phone will not be able to utilize the whole amount of memory. In other words, It will only be able to use 16GB of it, Instead of using the full amount. X.x
     
    chefster74, KOLIO and Gmash like this.
  13. Gmash

    Gmash Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,198
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    ^^^
    That is exactly right. You can put a 32gb card in there, but you will have issues, and the phone will only recognise 16gb anyway, so why waste your money?
     
    chefster74 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...