1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Mute ringtone without muting alarm?

Discussion in 'Music & Media' started by mqduck, Dec 22, 2013.

  1. mqduck

    mqduck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    In the past, muting the ringtone didn't mute the alarm. But starting sometime last Spring or, I can't find a way to mute the ringtone without it muting the alarm as well. In the Volumes control panel, where it shows the four volume levels, moving the Ringtone volume to zero mutes Notifications and Alarms, and they can't be changed until Ringtone is taken off mute.

    Is there a way to do this I just haven't found?
     

    Advertisement

  2. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,294
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    I really do not think this can be done. Or atleast experimenting with my phone it cannot be done anyways. Not sure if anyone else has tried this or not.

    Update:

    Ok I'm a bone head I was lowering the sound with the sound keys and not thinking about the internal volumes In My Motorola's Settings there is a volumes setting in the Sound Setting This allows you to customize the volume sounds for each individual:

    a. Music, video games, and other media
    b. Riingtone
    c. Notifications
    d. Alarms

    Check in your settings on the device you are on and see if its similar to my settings.
     
  3. mqduck

    mqduck Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013

    Dec 22, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Yeah, that's what I meant by "In the Volumes control panel, where it shows the four volume levels, moving the Ringtone volume to zero mutes Notifications and Alarms, and they can't be changed until Ringtone is taken off mute.". Thanks anyway. :(
     
  4. charlesrogers74

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010

    Dec 8, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    After setting your alarm there should either

    1. Be a volume slider at the bottom

    Or

    2. Press the menu button while in the actual Allen clock setting

    Hope this helps...
     
  5. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,208
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Or you know, you can just use a blank ringtone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...