1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

My ATT Captivate broke want to buy used Droid X

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cool_kyle_3000, May 4, 2011.

  1. cool_kyle_3000

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    40
    2
    16
    Can I just swap sim cards from my ATT Samsung Captivate? I was planning on buying one from Craigslist.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA
    Droid X dont take sim card different types of networks
     
  3. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    817
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    817
    150
    103
    Designer/Drafter
    O-town Florida
    verizon does not use a SIM card. they use CDMA networks.
    if you do get one off craigslist, make sure the ESN is clean. that should be the fist thing you ask the person. get the esn (it is the MEID HEX number under the battery) call your local VZW store and have them check the ESN, if it comes back clean, buy it.
     
  4. trav473

    trav473 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    689
    134
    113
    You cannot use a Droid X on AT&T network. Verizon and AT&T use two totally different technologies. If you wanted to, you cound get a Droid 2 Global and use it on AT&Ts network(it contains both a CDMA radio, and a GSM radio). If you are shopping on criegslist for a phone, Make sure it is a GSM phone, Not CDMA. good luck!
     
  5. chmodx

    chmodx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    567
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    567
    25
    68
    Would the Droid 2 using at&t GSM still get an OTA update then? Since it's a Verizon phone?
     
  6. cool_kyle_3000

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    40
    2
    16
    I do not like the droid 2 global because small screen and 5mp camera so I think. I may go HTC. What phone should I get?
     
  7. someotherguy

    someotherguy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    154
    22
    38
    So since you wanted Motorola on AT&T why not get an atrix?
     
  8. trav473

    trav473 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    689
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    689
    134
    113
    being on at&t, get you a Motorola Atrix .... dual core! 4G! 8MP HD camera! whats not to love? as long as your not into rooting and romming...... it has a locked bootloader too
     
  9. cool_kyle_3000

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    40
    2
    16
    screen is only 4 inches i dont like that phone
     
  10. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    The D2 won't work on ATT anyway. Even if you unlock the sim slot it will revert to CDMA if you are in the USA. That's how my Saga worked anyway.
     
  11. cool_kyle_3000

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    40
    2
    16
    darn i want a motorola phone maybe an HTC and cant afford the atrix
     
  12. Lise1024

    Lise1024 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi Kyle:

    I am selling my Moto Droid X device. If interested, please contact me.

    Thx,
    Lise1024
    [Removed Contact Info]
     
  13. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    31,510
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    31,510
    22,928
    3,118
    Scotland
    Hi Lise, for security purposes, I removed the contact info from your post.

    The post is nearly a year old so I presume Kyle has a new phone by now. If you're looking to sell, feel free to post in our classifieds section once you meet the criteria: Classifieds - Android Forums
     
    VoidedSaint likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...