1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support my biggest fear- handcent may be burning my battery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Jeffruby, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    Sure hope this Isnt true, but In using spare parts, seems last few days my partial wake time gulper is handcent. This would be a real shame. I hate the stock messaging app.
     

    Advertisement

  2. frmovrfnctn

    frmovrfnctn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    80
    6
    16
    are you using the new version's scrollable widget?
     
  3. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    No, just the pop UPS. No widgets
     
  4. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    Update, on for one hour, handcent partial use time by far most used, since unplugged. Wtf....try it yourself, using spareparts from app store
     
  5. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    That would suck balls. I've been trying to find out what is keeping my "up time" and "awake time" consistently the same. It only happens every once in a while, but when it does my battery drops like a rock. I've taken to shutting the phone off completely, pulling the battery and then turning it back on. That fixes it temporarily but I need to find the cause. Been working on it for a few months now with no resolution. If it's Handcent I'm going to be very upset. I'll test along with you today.
     
  6. jbdan

    jbdan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,121
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    7,121
    3,187
    513
    atl ga usa
    Had my phone charged to 100% last night. Unplugged it put in airplane mode and went to sleep. 7 hours later turned phone on and it was at 56% :thinking:

    This has never happened at the worst it would go to 92% overnight in airplane mode. Handcent seems to be the culprit under usage and system panel, but HC did just come with an update today for me, but says nothing about battery. hmm...
     
  7. bjanow

    bjanow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,763
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    2,763
    477
    163
    Colorado
    Handcent is not keeping my phone awake. Back to the drawing board.

    Yeah, I got the update too. Can't test now with the old version but I'll be glad if it's fixed.
     
  8. sail4fun201

    sail4fun201 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The old version did it for me when I had the pop-up enabled. Once I got rid of that, it was fine. I'm not using hte widget or hte pop up in the new version, and I'm having no issues with handcent keeping my phone awake.
     
  9. Ecks

    Ecks Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    108
    2
    36
    I have Handcent. I wanted to test if handcent was battery-heavy so I restarted my phone to clear battery statistics, then powered it on and made sure Handcent was working properly. Then I put my phone to sleep for one hour. Just woke it up and checked battery stats.
    Uptime: 59 minutes
    Awake time: 2 minutes 30s.
    Battery percent lost: < 2%

    So... i don't think it's handcent.

    edit: I don't have 'spare parts', nor do i know what it is, but handcent alone doesn't have a battery issue.
     
  10. smurfe

    smurfe Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    236
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    236
    23
    38
    Paramedic
    Prairieville Louisiana
    I just uninstalled it from my Dinc. I installed it this morning and immediately fell in love with it. My set has been awake since though. What is strange is System Monitor shows it up a bit but not the 4.5 hours the phone had been awake. It didn't show anything up like that. Handcent was the most at like 5 minutes. It is the only thing I had installed though today and never had this issue since I got the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...