1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General My bionic...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jvk, Oct 29, 2011.

1. jvk

jvk Newbie
    None

Apr 20, 2010
    I decided to write up a post for new users to the Bionic or thinking of switching to the Bionic.

I purchased my Bionic 24 hours before I heard about the Razr being announced. After a little fuming at the cliche of a 24 hour scoop like that I settled in to the device and decided against returning it.

I came to the Bionic from the OG (Moto Droid 1). I had been installing ROMs issued by Peter Alfonso. I am a self employed professional user and mainly used the root access for free tethering to my work computer while on the road. I appreciated being able to run the latest/greatest software after Motorola had long stopped tending to the OG and this is why I skipped from G1 to G3/4 (whoever is in charge of the generation numbering can correct me later).

I immediately found a one-click root method for the Bionic and rooted it... tried to tether and FAIL. I saw the discussions about the SQLite hack and considered it but then decided to just unroot and wait for more news.

The more news seemed to be that the OTA was going to permanently disable root access while also bringing a radio 4g/3g switch fix, among other things. I later read that a leaked copy of the OTA was out and saw that there was some favorable feedback about the radio quality.

I decided to go all in... I reverted to stock (there is a one-click app out there that will unbrick and return to stock on the Bionic... this is great... no fear!) and then rooted. I then applied a suggested method to achieve permanent root... which at least worked well enough to apply the leaked update and maintain root. The radio fix seems to be high quality as I stream netflix movies for my kids in the car and it improved the occasional loss of signal/restarts, etc.