1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support My Droid is saying that my SDCARD may be damaged??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kens97sto171, May 4, 2010.

  1. kens97sto171

    kens97sto171 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    Truck Driver
    Florence, KY
    I was shooting a short video... the battery had just given the warning about being low, I finished the video, then needed to take a still picture. When I tried to do that.. the phone said "insert SDCARD" I tried several times.. Then rebooted the phone. Then it said "SDCARD may be damaged do you want to format? "

    Whats up. I pulled the card out and am currently copying everything off it, so my pics and stuff are safe. Not sure about the rest of it.

    Is the phone screwed up? or what. If it is the phone I am still withing my warranty. If they cant fix it should I get another Droid or replace with an Incredible? Just wondering.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. obutto

    obutto Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    307
    14
    38
    Just format, if it says it again then the SD card might be damaged. Highly doubt it though. Its probably because the phone never got a chance to eject the mem card before shutting off. Just format it or you can just leave it.
     
  3. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    Just format it. It will work. Especially if your computer can read it and you're copying everything off it. It rarely, rarely happens (i just pull out flash memory without ejecting all the time, never had a problem) but they do get corrupt when improperly ejected which is why OSX and Windows warn you about it, and tell you to "safely remove" it next time before you physically remove the drive.

    You can transfer your stuff back over. If you want to be safe, just do the pics, music, and video. All your apps will recreate the folders and necessary files that where on there. Just if something backed up to it, the back up will be gone unless you transfer it back.
     
  4. kens97sto171

    kens97sto171 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    Truck Driver
    Florence, KY
    Thats the thing though. I was not pulling the card out when this happened. I just went from shooting video to still, and it came up with that error.

    I got my pics off the sdcard.. but something is not right. It is having trouble copying.. taking forever and then i had to shut down the PC cause it locked up.

    Glad I got the pics off.. I would have been seriously pissed off.

    If the card is bad.. will verizon just give me a new one. Or would they replace the phone or give the option to upgrad... Don't get me wrong I love my Droid.. but if i could get an Incredible for a resonable sum.. I might do that... if you guys think its a better phone.

    Thanks again.. I will update on my success or failure to copy.. and let you know what happens when I reformat the card. BTW should I format it in the Phone or on the PC?
     
  5. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    650
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    650
    44
    68
    Business Owner
    Lexington, KY
    Yep, that's what you do. The same thing happened to my SD card and reformatting took care of it.
     
  6. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    Format it in the phone.

    If your card is defective I can't see VZW giving you a new phone. That would be stupid. They should just swap out your card with a new one.

    Personally I don't think the Incredible is a better phone. Even with all the crap Motorola's been getting I still think it's a better built phone. Motorola's radios have always been awesome too, even if their phone builds sucked.
     
  7. kens97sto171

    kens97sto171 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    Truck Driver
    Florence, KY
    OK.. thanks for the info on the incredible I was just wondering. I guess I did not explain myself.. I ment for Verizon to swap the phone or replace it only if the problem is in the phone.

    I am still trying to get the stuff off the card... not looking good. But will try a few more times. At least I got my photos off it.

    Thanks again.
    Ken
     
  8. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Try coping a few folders at a time from your droid's SD card to your PC. If you have a decent amount of stuff on your droid (50% full card or more) it can take upwards of an hour to move this...and then another hour to move it back. I have had to do this 2 or 3 times since November. I think it is an issue with the SD cards they use (just speculating).

    Just cause you posed the question...I would NOT switch from the Droid to the Incredible. If you want to upgrade...wait until the phones that will come out later in 2010 or early 2011. I think the Incredible will have more success than the N1 but I think it will be a situation where people are saying in a year... "oh yeah, I remember that phone".
     
  9. JediJesus

    JediJesus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    266
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    266
    11
    58
    I had issues with some pictures were corrupt and I was getting the damaged card message. I deleted the picture and after a reboot the card was fine. Of course that might not be your fix but it could be worth a shot.
     
  10. kens97sto171

    kens97sto171 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    Truck Driver
    Florence, KY
    Thanks for the suggestion.. I am an old school computer user.. I have used that method quite often in the past.. when using older computers... copying lots of folders would take forever.. or you would get an error part way thu.

    I tried moving a little at a time.. I got some of the stuff.. my music, photos, The problem seemed to be in the Download folder. I copied some of it out one file at a time... but then it would do nothing...
    Then it just stopped all together. As soon as you open the folder it locked up.

    Put the SDCARD back in and formated it... all good now.

    Thanks for all the help.. I may look into replacing that card with a better one... any idea how large you can go?? bigger than 16Gig.

    Thanks.
    Ken
     
  11. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
     #64
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    You can go up to 32GB with the Droid. Many rooted users are going to the 16GB class 6 sd card because it is suitable for "Apps2SD" where you can load and run apps from your SD card using CyanogenMod ROM. This allows for you to load many more and much larger apps than your phone can handle. If you're not rooted...that is probably all gibberish to you but if you're contemplating rooting your phone...the class 6 is a good (but expensive) option.
     
  12. kens97sto171

    kens97sto171 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    Truck Driver
    Florence, KY
    Thanks. I will likely do that. I am currently running 2.1 Leak stock. But have the intention of going root eventually. I like the idea of the Class6 card anyway. What should I expect to pay for one? and do you have any suggestions on a good place to get them online or in a store? The faster card should allow faster read/write even just for photos etc.

    I think my sdcard is toast. It is still behaving strangely. Eveything works, but when you go into the gallery it does not show all the photos, and it wont let you go into "camera" "wallpaper" etc. I rebooted the phone and it worked normally first time into gallery, but after exiting it and going back it is is screwed up again. If I run Adv Task Killer it seems to work again too. I have 81MB storage left on the phone. ATK fixing it is kinda weird.. makes me wonder if something else is wrong.

    Thanks for all the help.
    Ken
     
  13. kokiangel

    kokiangel Android Expert
    Rank:
     #110
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,169
    581
    253
    Female
    Banker
    Helena, Alabama
    My droid has done the same thing when I forgot to unmount my sdcard before disconnecting from my computer. Didn't even realize I had done it until I tried to remount it. Sometimes just letting it do its error check fixes it. If not, then a reformat in the phone does the job for sure.
     
  14. Deanie

    Deanie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    146
    7
    56
    Middletown, Maryland
    Mine did this just the other day. I just remounted and then unmounted, and everything was fine.
     
  15. JM33

    JM33 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    162
    25
    43
    Maui, HI
    DON'T format just yet. Per previous post, try remounting. If that doesn't work, try pulling the battery and the sdcard, put 'em back in and reboot. This should fix it. I had it happen several times when I forgot to unmount before pulling the usb. I've never had to reformat. I guess if these don't work you can format but I don't think you'll need to.
     
  16. CoyotesFan4Evr

    CoyotesFan4Evr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    598
    33
    88
    Male
    You don't really want to know.
    Phoenix
    Ok so it's been a couple weeks now and although I'm not happy about no longer being with verizon and having a crappy sprint galaxy s series phone my sd card did the same thing. All off a sudden in the middle of taking a couple pictures it says it's damaged. Now I have done nothing to it and haven't put any new apps on it before this happened. It is my 32 gig card from my thunderbolt. I have put it in a card reader and into a computer and I get nothing. I have a ton and I mean a ryin of pictures that I can never get back if I have to reformat. What can I do guys? Please there has to be a way to save them before reformatting. I'm begging here! Thanks.
     
  17. Grey1001

    Grey1001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    538
    91
    78
    NorCal
  18. CoyotesFan4Evr

    CoyotesFan4Evr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    598
    33
    88
    Male
    You don't really want to know.
    Phoenix
    Thanks for the help, I just have two issues. One is I don't have internet at my house on my home computer, the other is I can do a wifi hot spot from my phone and my lap top sees it but everytime I try to connect to it I get an error message saying that it's no longer available or out of range but yet my phone is right beside it. So in other words I can't download that program to save my pictures on my sd card. I'll figure a way to get it on my computer and see if it works.
     
  19. CoyotesFan4Evr

    CoyotesFan4Evr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    598
    33
    88
    Male
    You don't really want to know.
    Phoenix
    No help guys? Maybe there is something I'm not thinking of?
     
  20. CoyotesFan4Evr

    CoyotesFan4Evr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    598
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    598
    33
    88
    Male
    You don't really want to know.
    Phoenix
    I've tried messing with my old sd card for awhile now and I haven't had any luck so far. Is there anything else I can do? I'm at a loss here. I have the card plugged into my computer right now and I'm not even getting that it's reading it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...