1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support My Droid recently will not let me download/update any apps!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by angiethemonster, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. angiethemonster

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    29
    0
    15
    Bookstore Manager
    Austin, TX
    Just out of nowhere, my droid won't let me update my existing apps nor download any new apps. I haven't messed with it or anything, promise.

    It starts the download, showing the moving arrow in the notification bar, then underneath the download, it says "Download unsuccessful" then the icon in the bar disappears.

    Does anyone know what I can do to fix this? I've tried clearing data, cache and whatnot from my market, no change. :/
     

    Advertisement

  2. memphiskat

    memphiskat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    31
    1
    16
    I had this problem for @ a week now. All my apps that would not update were on the sd @card. I moved them to the phone and now they updated successfully.
     
  3. StarKeepr93

    StarKeepr93 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I went and put all apps on my phone. Still a no -go. It says downloading paused waiting on wifi? Don't get it this never happened before. Is there a setting I need to change?
     
  4. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    I have had this issue in the past, not exactly sure what I did to fix it, but here's a couple simple ideas.

    Try turning Airplane Mode on and off again. May also want to try turning WiFi on and off. Disconnecting and reconnecting data is sometimes all you need.

    If you have ROM Manager (or a ROM that features this setting) try Fixing Permissions. Once it goes through it's spiel, it'll ask you to reboot your phone. After the reboot, you'll hopefully be good to go.

    Bout the best I can offer for right now.
     
  5. StarKeepr93

    StarKeepr93 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you. Tried what was suggested didn't work. And I don't have ROM phone is not rooted. I'm not very tech savvy do I need to root the phone?
     
  6. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Whether you need to root it or not is a decision you'll have to make. It's not so overly complicated that an inexperienced user can't do it, but I would recommend doing a lot of reading up on it. There's def a lot of benefits to rooting, but there's a lot of risk that comes with it.

    Here's the link to the All Things Root subforum for the Droid: Droid - All Things Root - Android Forums

    The very first thread is stickied and is a guide to just about everything you need to know about rooting your Droid. I would have linked directly to it, but I wanted you to visit the forum as a whole, as there's a lot of threads that may help you better evaluate your decision.
     
    StarKeepr93 likes this.
  7. YankeeDudeL

    YankeeDudeL Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,170
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009

    Oct 25, 2009
    2,170
    516
    213
    Male
    Wireless Sales Manager
    Going back to the original prob, it might help to clear your Market cache. Press the Menu softkey, then go to Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > All. Wait for your list to populate and scroll down to Market and select. From there you can clear data and clear cache. Once done, you should just be able to back out and go to the Market. See if that helps.

    Might not hurt to manually reboot your Droid, as that will clear all your caches (but not data).
     
    StarKeepr93 likes this.
  8. StarKeepr93

    StarKeepr93 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I will check out rooting and clear my cache, thank you so much for taking the time. :) I appreciate it.
     
  9. rwmad1

    rwmad1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    doctoral student
    Pennsylvania's Laurel Highlands
    Tried this. No luck. Was there a recent Android OS update pushed onto our phones recently?
     
  10. AngryHatter

    AngryHatter Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    973
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011

    Jan 21, 2011
    973
    92
    78
    QA Admin
    SoCal
    Nope. But the market has been unstable.
     
  11. rwmad1

    rwmad1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    doctoral student
    Pennsylvania's Laurel Highlands
    Android support suggested uninstalling Market updates. I did so and found apps could be installed and updated using the original version, but one had to work fast because Market would self-install its own updates and as soon as it came up to the current version, the downloads started to hang.
    I reverted back to the original version about four times to install two apps and update 6 others. But at least those are good to go for now.

    My guess is they will be pushing a bug fix to Market soon.
     
  12. hiddenidentity

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    1
    1
    6
    I'd be willing to bet you have Data Saver turned on in the settings.
     
    gtproteam likes this.
  13. gtproteam

    gtproteam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    3
    0
    25
    Give this man a Bells - simply solved!
     
  14. fazy97

    fazy97 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    hy everyone

    going on to settings>applications>manage applications> download manager> uninstall updates

    this should fix it!
     
  15. Happibun

    Happibun Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012

    Jan 18, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hi. I've got a Wildfire S, it came sim free, and I've had it for about 3 weeks now. A couple of days ago it alerted me that there was an update for android itself, and so I ran the update, rebooted and all that. Since then I have not been able to update the aps, or download new ones. I've tried pretty much everything suggested above, and none of it works. though I can't work out where to find the settings for this:

    Which sub menu will Data settings be under?

    Anyhoo, it's running Android 2.3.5

    I can't tell you what version of market it has.

    Help, please?
     
  16. Pelo

    Pelo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013

    Jun 7, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    hiddenidentity
    Data Saver "unchecked"
    Thank you Thank you Thank you
     

Share This Page

Loading...