1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General My Eris kind of turned into a piece of crap with 2.1 upgrade...anyone else?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gm991, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. gm991

    gm991 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    294
    6
    36
    Anyone else feel this way?
    I think the 2.1 is to much for the hardware in the eris.
    Is there anyway to go back to 1.5??
     

    Advertisement

  2. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    Yes, some will say no. But I was able to do so no problems. I went back to 1.5, then r00ted my phone. best decision I've made I now love this phone.
     
  3. hookem

    hookem Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    416
    44
    43
    TEXAS - AUSTIN
  4. gm991

    gm991 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    294
    6
    36
  5. gm991

    gm991 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    294
    6
    36
    Is it hard to get the phone back to 1.5?
    How do I do it?
     
  6. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
  7. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Yes it will. That's exactly how it fixes it since it resets it back to a factory install and removes any conflicting apps or settings. You might as well try it, because if you go back to 1.5, it will wipe everything anyway.

    Note: Anything on your memory card will remain, and apps you bought are tied to your Google account, so it will remember that you paid for them.
     
  8. hookem

    hookem Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    416
    44
    43
    TEXAS - AUSTIN
    +1 Just try it! :D
     
  9. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    ^Agreed, I hadn't noticed that you had never performed a factory reset. It may be worth a shot, considering you will be losing everything on your phone if you root as well. I have read many positive results over the past several weeks after people had hard reset their phones. I would give this a try before trying to rollback, unless you really want 1.5 for root purposes.
     
  10. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    878
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    878
    34
    78
    Pro Desk Driver
    Myrtle Beach SC
    Factory reset definitely improved mine. I had random restarts, phone wasn't ringing, and other issues. After the reset and some tweaking, I've had no problems now.
     
  11. gm991

    gm991 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    294
    6
    36
    OK guess I will write down all my app's I have and then just go back into the market and reinstall them all after, I don't have any pay app's.

    So everything on the card stay's?
    Can I just remove the card before doing the reset?

    How do I do a reset??
    thanks guys, hope this works because I did LOVE this phone.
     
  12. hookem

    hookem Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    416
    44
    43
    TEXAS - AUSTIN
    Menu > settings > privacy > factory reset

    Don't have to remove card, but better safe than sorry
     
  13. hookem

    hookem Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    416
    44
    43
    TEXAS - AUSTIN
    Double post
     
  14. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,695
    1,927
    483
    The first time that you go into the market after the reset, all of the apps, including free ones, will be there. Just do not leave the market until everything is installed. (In the market app after reset, click menu, then downloads.)

    That said, I suggest installing the application AppBrain, set up an account, sync with it, go into AppBrain.com from a desktop browser, select all of your apps and copy them to a list called "just in case". That way, in case the market is messed up, you'll have a list of apps that you had online (and a fairly easy way to install them.)
     
  15. gm991

    gm991 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    294
    6
    36

    OK did the hard reset, now what tweaks do you sugest?

    thanks
     
  16. Shakes The AssClown

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    25
    0
    15
    I am very disappointed with the battery life. I charge all night...and just a few hours later I am down to 60-70% with hardly doing anything intensive. Maybe a text here and there and a quick hit on the net. Done the tweaks for battery life..but nothing is really working. I hear others are getting a day and half...I wish I could get one day.
     
  17. gm991

    gm991 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    294
    6
    36
    Hey thanks for the info on getting my app's back after re-set.
    Worked great on getting all my app's back.

    Phone seems to be back to some what normal, time will tell.

    thanks for the advice guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...