1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General My Eris takes a long time to call

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by astrosfan200, Jun 20, 2010.

  1. astrosfan200

    astrosfan200 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010

    Jun 20, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    When I select a contact to call on my eris, it takes quite a bit longer to start calling than other eris phones. Is anyone else having the same problems or is mine the only one?
     

    Advertisement

  2. sobsmb

    sobsmb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    26
    5
    36
    Coldfusion Developer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    No you are not alone, mine does it as well.. I found that clearing the call history log helps sometimes other times IDK. I was using google voice for a while too but uninstalled that because of dialer lag.. Still not sure how to fix this 100%
     
  3. Calkacky

    Calkacky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    53
    1
    16
    I was having terrible trouble to the point that my phone totally froze and wouldn't make a call at all. I was right near a Verizon store so I droped in. The rep told me it was the task killer I had installed. Something about it having malware???? I have no idea what that meant, but he uninstalled that one and installed "advanced task killer free" and my dialing is good as ever.
     
  4. DroidDoes...Fail

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    what is the name of the old task killer you had?
     
  5. thewhopper

    thewhopper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    15
    4
    16
    I have the same problem when CALLING (and even ENDING) a call. Sometimes it appears frozen and won't CALL or END for a few seconds.

    It's primarily the RAM (not ROM). You can use the app [Android System Info] to verify this.

    The ERIS has the following...

    CPU: 528 MHz (processor)
    RAM: 288 MB (like memory on a computer)
    ROM: 512 MB (used up when installing Apps)

    When using the app [Android System Info]....

    The RAM is referred to as RAM.
    Mine is currently Max:191 Mo Free:51 Mo (26% available)

    The ROM is referred to as Internal Memory.
    (Mine is currently Max:159.5 Mo Free: 29.55 Mo (18% available)

    When I freed up some of the RAM (not ROM) it fixed the issue. When your RAM availability drops to around the 20 percentile the issue you are describing will happen.

    To help avoid the issue you could try uninstalling apps (which are always running) you don't use often....or you can use the app [Advanced Task Killer Free] to setup an auto kill frequency. The interval can be hours or when the screen turns off.
     
  6. rootedEris

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    274
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    274
    7
    36
    haha, before i rooted that pos eris. I would have to taskkill everything before even attempting to DIAL a number. Im so glad vzw are removing this item from stock. Frankly the htc droid eris cannot give new android users a good impression of what android is capable of.

    I would take it back to verizon, and bitch and complain until they give you a moto droid

    I would rather have a usable(yet slightly bigger) phone, than being stuck with a effin eris
     
  7. HistoryChick

    HistoryChick Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    8
    2
    6
    Amen rootedEris...my hubby and I are stuck with these POSs for a year and a half and I know we'll never make it. I know that android is way better than the experience that Verizon's Eris has given us...VZ should recall them all.
     
  8. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Why would they recall them? Mine works fine.
    Sent from an HTC Eris
     
  9. a7xnocturnal

    a7xnocturnal Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    31
    0
    35
    Insurance
    Tempe, AZ
    Could changing the slot cycle help?
     
  10. Calkacky

    Calkacky Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    53
    1
    16
    Unfortunately, I don't know. The guy took my phone to look at it and when he came back he had unistalled my first task killer and put the new one on.
     

Share This Page

Loading...