1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root My first "brick", and I have the wrong laptop.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AshG, May 6, 2011.

  1. AshG

    AshG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    82
    24
    18
    This is turning into one of those days.

    I decided it would be a nice idea to update to the .595 leak. I was toying around with LibertyGB 0.5 last night so I Bootstrap SBFed myself back to 2.3.340 and went from there. I was rolling and patting myself on the back for getting this process down and really commanding my phone. Then, my office phone rang. I made a mental note of where I was in the process and picked up where I left off (or so I thought). Phone boots to the white Moto logo (White? Uhoh.) for about 2 seconds then shuts off.

    Long story short, I've missed a step somewhere and now I get to do an old fashioned hard-connection SBF. So I reach into my bag and grab my USB cable. Check. Reach into my bag and grab my Macbook. Check. Wait, Macbook? I grabbed the wrong laptop on the way out of the house. Gulp. Now instead of having a freshly SBFed and updated phone for the trip home, I have a paperweight to shore my coffee cup in place. :D

    Moral of the story: Don't take phone calls while playing around in Recovery, even if you've done this 1000 times.

    Moral of the story 2: Make sure you have an SBF-able laptop or desktop with you before starting potentially brick-making processes.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    This is why you should have a small linux partition on your mac so you can SBF the easiest way. Linux doesn't use RSDlite. Just the SBF file and another reaaally small bin file. SBF'ing with a linux machine seems to take less time as well
     
  3. AshG

    AshG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    82
    24
    18
    Linux partition created. Now the hard part is getting a copy of the cool SBF ISO that does everything for you. I've found it multiple places, but work blocks the download. Yech.
     
  4. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    I understand those things man. You should get a tunnel set up so you can get around those pesky firewalls! Although, anything at the moment won't work since you're stuck there. :(
     
  5. Thats

    Thats That guy is This
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,169
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    1,169
    383
    183
    Male
    Air Force
    Fargo, ND
    I did this one time at my college union. I ran around looking for friends with a USB cable and Windows laptop. Asked them to used it, and they all watched in amazement as I "magically" restored my phone back to stock. It was a great day.
     
  6. AshG

    AshG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    82
    24
    18
    Wow, even following directions to a T this silly 595 leak keeps bricking me. Ergh.
     
  7. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth

    You aren't trying to flash anything after it before rebooting? And you're using D2 bootstrap? Write out your process and be detailed maybe we can help
     
  8. AshG

    AshG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    82
    24
    18
    I got it working, then found a new wrinkle and got it working too.

    Here's the process that I used to get from where I was to where I am now.

    1. SBF to 340
    2. Run Z4, install D2 Bootstrap, reboot.
    3. Wipe Data three times, Cache three times.

    Here's where it went wrong. I tried to install 595 straight up. I couldn't find anything that said you couldn't, so... I guess I was wrong.

    4. Install the 588 Triple Zip, reboot
    5. Install D2 Bootstrap, reboot.
    6. Triple wipe both partitions (again, for good measure)
    7. Install 595, reboot.

    I ended up running into yet another hurdle - the "prerooted" 595 wasn't completely rooted, and Gingerbreak wasn't fixing it (i.e. SU was installed and logging permissions, notifications were popping up, but programs requiring root gave No Root warnings). That left me without TiBU to get things put back in place. On a hunch, I downloaded Busybox Installer. When I ran it, it said there was no Busybox installed. Shouldn't GingerBreak have installed that? I ran the program and installed the latest version and one reboot later TiBU worked like a charm. Everything is back in place and running as smooth as silk.

    This should hold me for a week until its time to maderstcok back for the OTA. ;)
     
  9. jlewis74

    jlewis74 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    157
    11
    38
    Market Area Managers
    Charlotte NC
    Gingerbreak does not install Busybox.
     
  10. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    Titanium backup can download busybox by clicking problems.
     
  11. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    your first mistake was using bootstrap to "SBF" you can't go to Gingerbread that way...you have to do a "full" SBF....
     
  12. AshG

    AshG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    82
    24
    18
    Not according to the TBH App. :) Their SBF-as-zip works quite well. Only had to do it the hard way because I made other mistakes.

    Aggie, I didn't know TiBU had that functionality. Thanks for the heads up. I'm still learning the ropes with this OS.
     
  13. Metfanant

    Metfanant Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,450
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    2,450
    412
    163
    No, actually it does not...their .zip functions exactly like maderstcok.zip does...and while both serve the same purpose as an actual SBF, for whatever reason those that attempted to update to the GB leaks after using such .zip files all had problems...

    if you notice in the instructions for the Gingerbread leaks as posted by P3Droid himself they include SBFing by using RSD Lite not flashing the .zip files
     
  14. AshG

    AshG Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    82
    24
    18
    I stand corrected, thanks.

    Anyway... At the end of the day I at least feel more proficient in knowing what to do (and not do) when an Android-based phone goes tits up. This is so much more fun than messing with my old Blackberry.
     
  15. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,682
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    1,682
    429
    163
    student
    Planet Earth
    This is what it's all about. messing it up and getting it back working. It helped me learn android this way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...