1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

My Galaxy S3 connects to 4G?

Discussion in 'Virgin Mobile' started by SFC_Ren, Jul 11, 2013.

  1. SFC_Ren

    SFC_Ren Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    21
    0
    35
    Okay, I just upgraded from the HTC EVO V 4G to the Galaxy S3.
    At times my S3 phone says I am connected to 4G, yet the coverage maps for Virginmobile and Sprint both show the nearest 4G LTE coverage (to me) is over 100 miles away. Are the coverage maps outdated? What is going on here? Is it connecting to Wi-max 4G? I didn't think the S3 was capable of wi-max 4G as well as LTE 4G.

    Any ideas would be helpful. And no I haven't attempted any type of speed tests or other connection checks when it shows I'm on 4G. Any suggestions as to how I can verify type (4G Wi-Max or 4G LTE) or speed of connection?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. RealFastOne

    RealFastOne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    104
    15
    38
    Ohio
    I do not have a 4G LTE phone, but I am following Sprint's (Virgin Mobile) 4G LTE coverage for any future Virgin Mobile phone purchase.

    My understanding is that Sprint is rolling out 4G LTE way ahead of schedule and is not updating their coverage map to reflect it. Try this link and select the Coverage Maps tab to search your area. Note that you have to select Sprint 4G service, not Wimax.

    Coverage Maps | Sensorly

    The map for my area shows 4G LTE service near me, though it does not show on Sprint's map or announced cities list. Please post if it is indeed showing coverage for your area.
     
  3. SFC_Ren

    SFC_Ren Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    21
    0
    35
    Wow, yeah Sensorly is showing a ton of Sprint 4G LTE (not WiMax) coverage in my city. Salem, Oregon I just downloaded the app so I can contribute also. It seems to be accurate to what I'm experiencing. Because at my house, I don't have 4G (which agrees with the Sensorly coverage map. But at work I have great 4G coverage. Maybe they don't want announce they have coverage in an area until it's over 90% in that city or something. Who knows. Thanks for the assistance.

    That's good to know, I just assumed and had settled for only having 3g service with my new S3, but actually having the 4G LTE is like an unexpected bonus.
     
  4. mistichunter

    mistichunter Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012

    Feb 6, 2012
    133
    17
    58
    Male
    PICKER AT AMAZON FULLFILLMENT
    San Antonio Texas
    4g lte has moee coverage. . I've noticed that it has better coveeage than wimax. So yeah the s3. Has better coverage. Had mines for almost 3 weeks now
     

Share This Page

Loading...