1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support My Htc is broken

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AndrewLb, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. AndrewLb

    AndrewLb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Hey guys, how you doing? Hope good :p
    Anw I have a problem...
    My cellphone "Htc Desire HD" is working properly but my screen stopped working (broked), so I can charge it normally and I receive notifications and messages and calls and everything normally, but I can't answer or check the notifications etc.. because of my screen.
    So I bought a new device "Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini" and I want to export my contacts from my Htc and import them into Samsung, any idea how to do it without touching my Htc (because the screen is broken)?
    When I plug my htc into my laptop, the default mode is set to "Charge only".
    Any idea? :thinking:
    Thanks:)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    Are your contacts not sync'd with Google? If you sign in on the S4 with the same Google account, it should sync the contacts back.
     
    D-U-R-X and scotty85 like this.
  3. AndrewLb

    AndrewLb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Oh sry forgot to tell u no I didn't do that:/
    I never sync'd with my google account
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  4. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    how is your screen broken? you cannot see anything? or you can see,but the touch is unresponsive?

    if the device is rooted,you could always make a nandroid backup in recovery,and restore it on a friends device if you know someone with another DHD.

    unfortunately,if its not rooted,i cannot think of a way to root it without a working screen.

    there may be apps that could back up your contack list,but again,im not sure how you could install and run the app without a screen :(

    you might look into the cost of repair. if you just need an lcd or digitizer,it may not cost much,or if you can do small electronic repair,the parts may be cheap.

    once the phone is working properly again,you can go thru and change them all to google.

    sorry i cant be of more help,if nothing else,make sure in the future you create all contacts as google :)
     
    D-U-R-X and Mehta23 like this.
  5. AndrewLb

    AndrewLb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    I can see normally, but the touch is unresponsive.
    Well the screen costs about 100$
    So I just don't want to repair it again.. This is my second time I broke the screen xD
    Anw thx for your helps
     
  6. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    As Scotty pointed out, if you can see what comes up on the screen it should be possible for you to make a nandroid backup

    Edit: you could only do that if the phone is rooted.
     
  7. AndrewLb

    AndrewLb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Well how to make a nandroid backup?
    And thank you guys for helping me:)
    So if I do a android backup what will happen?
    I just want my contacts on the other phone, that's all what I want. Before I drop that htc xD
     
  8. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    If you are rooted, you can do a nandroid backup which takes a full backup of everything on your phone. If you can make one, you could restore it onto another DHD and once restored it would look exactly the same as before - a snapshot if you will.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  9. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    you would need to be rooted. unfortunately,there is no way to root that would preserve yuor contacts. you could unlock the bootloader,then install a recovery,but this wouldnt do us any good,as unlocking the bootloader preforms a factory reset in the process,wiping your phone of all personal data. :(

    i cant think of anyway to get your contacts from one device to the other without being rooted,or a working screen :(
     
  10. AndrewLb

    AndrewLb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Ohh ok:(
    Anw thx guys for your help
    Maybe next month will repair my screen for my contacts >.<
    Cya
     
  11. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    I might be wrong, but I'm pretty sure I didn't lose data when I rooted?
     
  12. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    you may have used a method that didnt erase your data,but it prolly required you to install and run an app,or you used the aahk wich is no longer supported,plus still required some screen touches(i think)

    depending on the build he is on,there may be a temp root option,wich would let us dump the /data partition,but it would require to download and setup the miniadb file,plus he would have to have enabled usb debugging at some point(something most non-root users do not do),plus he would still need another dhd to root,install the same build he has,and restore the data partition back to it.

    he could unlock the bootloader and install a recovery without touching the phone,but the unlock process wipes his data :(

    ill keep pondering it,but the best way i can think of is to just fix the touchscreen :(
     
  13. scotty85

    scotty85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    11,139
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    11,139
    7,418
    1,413
    sorry we wernt of more helps :( i will keep pondering it,and let you know if theres anything we can try.
     
  14. AndrewLb

    AndrewLb Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013

    Aug 6, 2013
    6
    1
    6
    Oh man thank you
    Do you know any way to change from "Charge Only Mode" to "USB Debugging Mode"?
    If so, I can sync from my laptop I think and this may works.
    But I don't know how to change the mode from charge only to usb debugging without using the phone.. And idk if there is a way to do that, thanks :)
     
  15. Mehta23

    Mehta23 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    2,448
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011

    I don't think there's a way to don't without screen touching.

    @Scotty you're right, I do recall something about hitting 'ok' on a dialog on my screen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...