1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

My imac doesn't like my superpad

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by Ekir, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. Ekir

    Ekir Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Hi all, just got my 2.2 superpad, didn't come with usb cable so pluged my own one in, it works fine with other devices, but my tablet won't show up on the imac, now will any sort of notice show on the tablet to say it is plugged into a computer.

    It came with a 2gig sd card, but that won't show up either and I don't have a seperate card reader to put that into. Wifi is telling me that my password is wrong, but I think that may be a problem with my carrier, as my phone won;t connect with wifi either.

    Do I have to go out and get the tf card, or a seperate card reader? Or how do I find driver for my mac?

    Is it even possible to pulg it into a mac? My hubby has a windows laptop so could try on there,

    Sorry to bug you guys, I tried what was suggested in the other thread about the notifications bar but it has nothing about debugging usb connection :(

    I have googled this until my eyes hurt, they are turning square!

    Any help would be appreciated, I already know which apps I want and have three very excited children waiting to try it, let alone me wanting to use my new toy!

    Louise
     

    Advertisement

  2. Laramie8x8

    Laramie8x8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    22
    8
    16
    When you plug the superpad in, do you get a notification in your drop down on the tablet and can you select "mass media" mode or anything like that?
     
  3. Ekir

    Ekir Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    No. It just says "No notifications"

    Thanks for the quick reply, this is annoying me, we want to play!
     
  4. Laramie8x8

    Laramie8x8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    22
    8
    16
    What is the exact size/model of your superpad? Please post and I'll see if there's a specific mac driver online. Normally mac's don't need drivers for this kinda stuff.
     
  5. Ekir

    Ekir Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    model no: disco
    Andriod version 2.2 20110316
    Uknown baseband version
    Kernel version 2.6.32.9 cao@cao-desktop#19
    Build no: FRF85B
     
  6. Laramie8x8

    Laramie8x8 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    22
    8
    16
    Are you using the cable that came with the tablet? Are you using a usb slot on your mac that you know works?

    So with the usb cable already plugged into the mac, when you plug the other end into the tablet, you don't get any sort of notification in the drop down?
     
  7. Ekir

    Ekir Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    this one didn't come with a usb cable, will try in a diffetrent port right now...nope nothing no notifications, tried all the ports on mac even the ones that hold my keyboard so I def n=know they are working..nothing!
     
  8. Ekir

    Ekir Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Anyone?????
     
  9. AngelArs

    AngelArs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    208
    39
    43
    vB code analysis, Android / iOS Developer, CEO My
    Are you using a USB hub or going straight to the Mac?

    What version of OS X?

    Are you viewing through Disk Utility?

    Are you positive the cable is good, or do you just 'think' it's good?

    Do you have any music on your superpad?
     
  10. Ekir

    Ekir Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012

    Jan 6, 2012
    7
    0
    5

    Hey!

    I tried the hub first with no luck, then tried all USB ports on the mac. No luck.
    No, I hadn't tried viewing through disk utility, I was waiting for it to come up on the desktop.

    Have tried cable recently with other devi9ces has always worked good

    I have managed to transfer some app music etc onto the superpad via tranfer from a USB stick, which I didn't think would work, lol.

    Main issue is most of the best apps are on android market, have already bookmarked the ones I want, but android market only lets you download directly to the dvice, so was trying to connect it to computer to use internet since the wifi won't work!
     
  11. AngelArs

    AngelArs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    208
    39
    43
    vB code analysis, Android / iOS Developer, CEO My
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    According post 7 here the Disco simply doesn't support file transfer via USB.

    Best bet is to solve the wifi problem. Tablets and phones not connecting to your wifi isn't a carrier/provider problem, it's something other.

    First, does wifi work for the iMac and hubby's laptop?

    If so, then the password problem may be you have one type of wifi security configured for those devices and another for your phone and tablet. (WPA vs WEP for example)

    I'd suggest starting there.

    After that you'll be able to get to the Market and install something like SwiFTP or DavDrive on your tablet for xferring files to PC or Mac.

    Besides, I wouldn't even want to think about trying to use your Mac as a network proxy via USB for that tablet, honestly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...