1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support My own contact number still showing temp number

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Harlem Ranger, Apr 21, 2012.

  1. Harlem Ranger

    Harlem Ranger Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Scotland
    When I got my phone, I was given a temporary number, until my own number was ported across.

    Problem is that my temporary number still shows as my own number in my contacts. How do i get rid of that?

    I can't edit/delete it. I have tried un-linking all my numbers then re-linking them, but the issue remains. Tried rebooting, even tried removing and reseating the sim.

    I was able to add my own number, and set that as my main number, yet it still shows as the temp number in contacts, with no option to delete/edit

    Had a look around this site where the only similar thread i could find was for a Samsung Galaxy S2, which was unresolved.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. heavensenttom

    heavensenttom Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    53
    2
    16
    Male
    Mechanical Engineer
    Swansea, UK
    I had this, only solution I found was a factory reset.
     
    Harlem Ranger likes this.
  3. Harlem Ranger

    Harlem Ranger Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Scotland
    Thanks mate, was beginning to think that might be my only solution, oh well

    Thanks for your reply
     
  4. heavensenttom

    heavensenttom Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    53
    2
    16
    Male
    Mechanical Engineer
    Swansea, UK
    No worries. There could be other ways, but I went through most of what you did and nothing worked.
     
  5. DaSchmarotzer

    DaSchmarotzer Blame it on me
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,086
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    3,086
    1,569
    313
    Studying
    Qu
    As heavensenttom said, I think a factory reset is the only way to go.

    It's probably not worth doing a reset unless you were planning on doing it, or if it really bugs you. ;)
     
    Harlem Ranger likes this.
  6. Harlem Ranger

    Harlem Ranger Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    11
    0
    35
    Scotland
    I really don't want to reset to be honest, so I'm trying to learn to live with it :D

    Thanks for the reply
     

Share This Page

Loading...