1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

My PC antivirus found a virus on my Hero

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by iCrash, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. iCrash

    iCrash Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009

    Dec 24, 2009
    26
    1
    16
    New Jersey, USA
    So I mounted my Hero to my PC just now and Eset NOD32 pops up saying it just deleted D:\game.exe and D:\Autorun.inf. So obviously it is a PC virus, but I'm thinking to myself how did it get onto my Hero? Then I remembered I used my Hero as removable storage to load Malwarebytes onto my friend's infested PC. So the moral of the story is don't mount your Hero to a computer riddled with viruses and adware and if you do make sure you have adequate virus protection on your own PCs.

    Now I'll throw a question into this... would an Android antivirus app have intercepted a virus made for a PC?
     

    Advertisement

  2. jersey221

    jersey221 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    387
    16
    38
    Washington
    its possible that a android anti virus could pick it up...
     
  3. mkhopper

    mkhopper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    124
    9
    36
    If an updated list of virus definitions were loaded into an anti-virus application running on the Hero, sure, it could have flagged the files.

    What would really be optimum; An app that puts the SD card into read-only mode before mounting it to a questionable PC. I think it's possible to internally remount the SD card as read-only, but you'd need root access to do it.

    (Standard disclaimer... I take no responsibility for this... Do so at your own risk....)

    Code (Text):
    1. mount -o r,remount -t yaffs2 /sdcard
    To go back to read/write,
    Code (Text):
    1. mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /sdcard
     
  4. romeosidvicious

    romeosidvicious Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009

    The SD card isn't yaffs (-t is type) if it's stock it's fat32 which is -t msdos
     
  5. mkhopper

    mkhopper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    124
    9
    36
    Oop, yes you're correct. Was too fast in the copy/paste/reply. :eek:
     
  6. alex88

    alex88 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    1
    0
    5
  7. Sixxx

    Sixxx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010

  8. Gamingphreek

    Gamingphreek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    21
    5
    16
    It's really a moot point.

    A Windows executable and an INF file are not going to be able to execute on the *nix based platform of the Hero.

    Honestly there is no need for Anti-Virus or remounting the sd-card when dealing with questionable computers that are Windows based. Now, if you suspect a Linux/OSX/*BSD based system is infected, THEN perhaps some additional layers of protection would be beneficial.
     
  9. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    190
    3
    36
    Mechanical Engineer
    Puerto Rico
    the idea is to not propagate the virus... My phone's SD got infected with an Autorun virus (similar to the one you have) and it then infected my wife's PC when I connected the phone to it... It was easy to clean but still a problem... Anyway, I think its not the phone fault but the PC. It should have a good Antivirus since its a Windows device...
     
  10. timkat

    timkat Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    It's true, you should have a good antivirus. Check it out this list of the best antivirus and choose one from there.
     
  11. K4KAI

    K4KAI Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    135
    12
    38
    Finally Retired
    Reno, Nevada
    I wonder if the linked "best anti-virus" site really lists all the best ones, or only the ones that pay them a fee for listing.

    I have found that for Windows machines, the best anti-virus (for me) is "Microsoft Security Essentials" which may be downloaded, installed and maintained absolutely FREE of cost to the user.

    Give it a try, you just might like it, and it could possibly save you a few $$.

    I have absolutely no business interests with Microsoft, I am just a happy, long-time customer.
     
  12. MarkHirt

    MarkHirt Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    That's rare.
     
    Guitardoc64 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...