1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

My phone is like me - slow to wake up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Girevik, May 5, 2011.

  1. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #201
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    669
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    My phone started acting really wonky today, but most of the major issues seem to have passed. Now the annoying thing it doing is taking like anywhere from 5 to 15 seconds to wake up when I press the power key. I'm considering trying a couple of things, and wanted to get some feedback:

    1. A factory reset, but I don't know what all will be involved in getting it back to the state where it is now or what I may lose. I do have Titainium Backup and My Backup Pro.

    2. Calling AT&T and trying to get a warranty replacement. It is still under warranty, but I'm kind of afraid of getting an older refurb that would have the shutdown problem or something.

    Is there maybe something else I can try?
     

    Advertisement

  2. thiswasatriumph

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    23
    5
    16
    Well you could clear the Dalvik cache in recovery but i don't think stock roms can do that. Not sure. Are you on 2.2 yet? Considered a custom rom? That issue, im 99% sure, is not hardware related.
     
  3. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #201
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    669
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    A. I'm not sure what the Dalvik cache is.
    B. Yes, I am on 2.2
    C. I have considered a custom ROM, but haven't pulled the trigger yet. I AM rooted though (wich I need to remember to undo if I do try to send it back).

    Another strange thing I noticed....I tried restating it for about the 4th time today after making my orginal ost and it seemed that it was actually working well. That lasted until I got text from my wife and it started acting up again. Even know it will occasionally come right up but more often lags (which makes me inclined to agree with you that it's not hardware, but I also haven't make any software changes recenlty that I can think of).

    If it makes any difference, here's the history. All of a sudden this afternoon my touch screen stopped working, so I pulled the battery. When I put it back in, it was stuck for EVER on the white at&t screen, and then again for a bit on the Samsung "S" screen. Eventually it did come back up but the touch screen still wasn't working. Pulled the battery again, and this time it came up as normal and seemed to be acting okay until I noticed the sleep lag.
     
  4. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #201
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    669
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    What if I did a factory reset? Would that go back to 2.1 or would it leave me a "stock" 2.2? What would I have to go to get all my aps and settings back? This slow wakeup thing is getting a little frustrating.
     
  5. rubiconjp

    rubiconjp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    363
    40
    43
    Factory reset would still leave you at 2.2.
     
  6. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #201
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    669
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    Is that something that might help me? Now my cycle seems to be repeating....my touch screen locked and now I'm stuck on the white at&t screen again.

    Girevik is getting frustrated!!
     
  7. KritikSS

    KritikSS Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    27
    11
    18
    Internet Tech/PC & Mac Specialist
    Lubbock, TX

    I never experienced the wake up lag, but there was lag and and some other issues with some apps like music player. I did a factory reset, and then downloaded the apps i needed and configured to my liking along with adw launcher and all my issues seem to have disappeared.
     
  8. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #201
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    669
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    That's kind of the way I'm leaning. I just don't know how big a hassle it will be to get stuff set up again. I do have everything backed up with Titanium and MyBackup Pro, but I'm afraid restoring that would just restore my problem.
     
  9. Girevik

    Girevik Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #201
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    669
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010

    Dec 18, 2010
    669
    22
    63
    Computer Geek
    Columbus, OH
    Just FYI - I'm strongly considering a rest so I was poking around some of my aps to write settings down for after the restore. I found an option to clear the Dalvik cache in Titanium pro.

    It actually seems to have helped, but I'm thinkink I may do a reset anyway just because a lot of folks have said they seemed to get better performance after doing a reset post-update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...