1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root My phone's performance is getting worse

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by BloodBlade, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    hi everyone

    my phone has been acting up more and more recently. i keep getting lag particularly on the browser i use which is Dolphin browser. the phone also sometimes crashes and when the screen comes back up after that i see on my desktop that some app icons are missing and i have to use the main menu screen (white box at middle of bottom screen) to put them back on my desktop screen. another thing is when i use transdroid the downloads get stuck in waiting mode. that started doing that a few days ago. its like my phone is getting worse and worse and i don't know what's causing it. would reflashing my rom solve it? i really don't wanna do that cause then i have to reinstall all my stuff and i hate that but if its the only way to fix it then i will do it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    859
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    You mentioned about reflashing the ROM which means you are rooted and thought you might get a better answer over in the rooted section.:)
    Hope this helps! :)
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  3. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    edit: looks like a mod moved my message. thanks to whoever did that.
    if anyone can help me with my problem in original post please let me know here. thanks!

    <<hi everyone

    my phone has been acting up more and more recently. i keep getting lag particularly on the browser i use which is Dolphin browser. the phone also sometimes crashes and when the screen comes back up after that i see on my desktop that some app icons are missing and i have to use the main menu screen (white box at middle of bottom screen) to put them back on my desktop screen. another thing is when i use transdroid the downloads get stuck in waiting mode. that started doing that a few days ago. its like my phone is getting worse and worse and i don't know what's causing it. would reflashing my rom solve it? i really don't wanna do that cause then i have to reinstall all my stuff and i hate that but if its the only way to fix it then i will do it.>>
     
  4. VoltronMaximus

    VoltronMaximus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    304
    81
    53
    Male
    Milwaukee
    I see that you are using CTmod. Are you using Data or SSM mode. How big of a partition do you have? What class of sd card are you using? Do you use Titanium Backup, and if so have you used it to restore apps since flashing CTmod? I figure lets start with the basics an go from there.
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  5. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    hi Voltron

    thanks for the reply man. i am using Data mode. my partition is 2048mb EXT4. my fat partition is 29345mb. i am using a Samsung 32gb micro sd class 10 hc. i have titanium backup installed but i haven't used it yet cause honestly i don't know how to use it and i was gonna research it when it came time to use it.
     
  6. VoltronMaximus

    VoltronMaximus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    304
    81
    53
    Male
    Milwaukee
    Ok. Everything sounds good. What I would try is reflashing the rom. Before you do so, in CWM, wipe dalvik cache 2x, wipe data 2x, reboot back to CWM, wipe dalvik and data again, reboot back to CWM, then install rom. It sounds funny wiping the same things 2 or 3 times, but it is actually effective when flashing rom.

    If that dont work, you could then try a complete redo starting with using ODIN, probably best to try the latest baseband (FF19), and then do the previously mentioned steps. Hope it works out for you:)
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  7. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    hey Voltron

    i have a few questions regarding your reply.


    1. Reflashing the rom and wiping the data would erase my apps and everything else i did on my phone correct?
    2. what would be the fastest way to get everything backed up? like i said i haven't used Titanium yet and i think i read you shouldn't backup your apps with that program cause it can screw things up. They say it's best to reinstall them.
    3. regarding flashing the rom, i looked in goo manager and it said when i opened flash roms and it said a message that said i must have an openrecoveryscript-compatible recovery. i pressed try to find one for me but it said "no recoveries were found for your device." what do i do? i looked at this area of the phone to make sure i knew where to go when i got to that part of the instructions.
    4. and finally so i understand i should install latest baseband (FF19) first before doing the steps mentioned in your first paragraph?
     
  8. VoltronMaximus

    VoltronMaximus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011

    Sep 27, 2011
    304
    81
    53
    Male
    Milwaukee
    1) Yes. 2)I use ES File Explorer for backup. Go to the App Manager screen, then long press on each app and select backup. Make sure you save the backups folder, and any pics or other files to the pc. 3) Im not sure about that message. I do know that if youve used the files from this site to root your phone with ODIN, you have CWM installed already. I would always use CWM to flash CTmod. 4) Yes. If youve tried the first paragraph and you are still getting issues.

    Now heres something that popped in my mind today: I remember I used to have an issue kinda similar to you. What ultimately fixed it was to clear the cache and shut down apps that were running that didnt need to be. Browsers, Facebook apps, and YouTube build up some seriously big caches, like 20-30mbs sometimes each! I found that clearing these out helps a lot. And for closing apps, I find the best solution is to actually go into apps, and select the ALL tab, and to go through it one by one and see whats running. Most apps can be force closed without any issues, but use common sense and dont close things if you dont know what it does. Besides the aforementioned big cache apps, things like the Play store, maps, and any other apps that dont need to be ready 24/7 should be closed. This process seems kinda tedious in the beginning, but after a few times you will learn what apps are the ones that stay running and will be able to go directly to them to shut them down. Given that you seem to have everything setup correctly, I am pretty confident that this is more than likely your problem. :D
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  9. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    thanks Voltron, i will try out your suggestions and get back to you on the results.
     
  10. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    hi Voltron

    sorry for the delay. i was trying out your 2nd suggestion out from the second paragraph on your post and it fixed the lagging and crashes only some of the time. i know some of the apps on my phone that don't need to be on and i force closed them down. but im still not sure what others need to be shut down cause i don't know which ones are the important ones that run in the background. i can either list the apps that are listed in the "ALL" tab in settings and if possible you can help tell me which ones are not necessary to have running in order to free up cache?

    as a last resort im thinking i might actually do your suggestions from your first paragraph regarding reflashing the rom.

    btw i noticed you are using CTmod 3.75 Final. i am using 3.80. is 3.75 Final more reliable? just curious.
     
  11. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    can anyone out there help me with my phone trouble? im wondering if based on Voltron's advice if i should do this what he wrote:

    "Ok. Everything sounds good. What I would try is reflashing the rom. Before you do so, in CWM, wipe dalvik cache 2x, wipe data 2x, reboot back to CWM, wipe dalvik and data again, reboot back to CWM, then install rom. It sounds funny wiping the same things 2 or 3 times, but it is actually effective when flashing rom.

    If that dont work, you could then try a complete redo starting with using ODIN, probably best to try the latest baseband (FF19), and then do the previously mentioned steps. Hope it works out for you:)"

    i ask cause i still don't know what suggested apps i should shut down. i did some of them but i still have lag problems and crashes. and i realy don't wanna do what's suggested above but if that's the only solution left i'll do it. im just tired of reinstalling stuff after upgrading or reflashing. perhaps someone can guide me thru the easiest way of doing that or a link that explains it in explicit detail? im getting desperate and ive been patiently waiting for someone to help me. :(
     
  12. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Whenever I was having issues that I had a hard time troubleshooting I would use Odin, flash one of the rooted stock versions and go from there. A lot of the time you'll end up taking less time by just starting from scratch instead of trying to find out what the problem is.

    I know it sounds like a lot but if you use Titanium to restore your apps MINUS DATA, it doesn't take long at all. :thumbup:
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  13. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    Hey wetbiker.

    Thanks for the reply. Does it matter which rooted stock version I use? Is there anything else you can tell me I should do after flashing that? I'm confused about something. I've never used titanium before yet but won't flashing the rom erase titanium and all it's saved data? Thanks in advance if you can help answer my questions.
     
  14. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,445
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    I would suggest using the newest rooted image (there is a link in the root guide)

    As far as titanium goes, it stores the backups on your sdcard. As long as you don't format your sdcard the backups will not be deleted.

    Once you have installed the stock rooted image, just reflash the rom of your choice and once you sign into the play store just reinstall titanium backup and restore your apps
     
    BloodBlade and wetbiker7 like this.
  15. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    hi lordvincent

    thanks for the info. just so i know so that i don't do it accidentally, how do you format your sdcard? is CTMod's menus right? in your honest opinion to you or any others who are reading this do you recommend geting the full version of Titanium or im fine with the free version? just wondering.
     
  16. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,445
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    You can format the sdcard in ct settings or from the mounts menu in cwm. (But do not do so!)

    And as far as free vs pro goes, both work to restore your apps. The benefit to pro is that you can do more than one at a time. With the free version you have to select each app individually, one at a time. With pro, you can do a 'batch restore'

    Just remember not to restore the data or you will essentially negate the point of starting over
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  17. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    7,475
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    7,475
    3,426
    333
    Male
    USN Vet. / Certified Drug and Alcohol Abuse Counse
    So-Cal
    Thanks for grabbing that question for me LV.

    @BloodBlade, I agree with LV. I would go with the newest.
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  18. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    thanks lordvincent and wetbiker for your help. i will get started on the info you guys provided. if i have any questions i will chime on here again. :)
     
  19. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    hey guys.

    i finally gotten around to using your suggestions. was busy with class and taking care of my new kitten. anyway, i had a few more questions that i hope some of you can help me with.

    i installed ff19 rooted (the newest rooted image right?) and flashed the ctmod3.80 rom. i also bought the pro version of Titanium Backup Pro. like i said in a earlier post i wasnt too familiar with titanium backup. and now im not sure if i messed up cause when i look in that app in backup restore list it doesn't show the apps i had before i redid my phone. im assuming its somewhere in the menu button? if not its not all bad i can reinstall stuff. one last thing, can someone point me in the direction of where i can redo my internal storage? heres what i had prior taking on this whole thing

    "i am using Data mode. my partition is 2048mb EXT4. my fat partition is 29345mb. i am using a Samsung 32gb micro sd class 10 hc"

    i notice now that in internal storage i have listed 90mb used and 70mb free. i need to have much more room than that for my apps that i download. sd card storage i have 0.99gb used and 26gb free. can someone explain to me how i can have a few gb in internal storage?

    many many thanks in advance to whoever can help me with these problems. i am glad i found this forum. :)
     
  20. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    i hope this isn't considered a double post but i need help badly and i haven't heard from the fellas who helped me on this post in a couple of days. let me rephrase and try to be more clear with what i need help with. maybe that will work?

    ok a couple of days ago i followed wetbiker's advice and used Odin to flash one of the rooted stock versions. i used ff19 and flashed ctmod3.80 rom. i bought titanium backup pro. like i said in earlier i didn't know how to use that app but i know its a essential app to have for a rooted phone. ive had a lot of stuff on my mind lately and its been a couple of days so i honestly cant remember if i tried to backup my stuff prior to reflashing ff19 and ctmod3.80 rom. im assuming i didnt. i know i know i should remember stuff like that. but im learning. when i look at the backup restore list it doesn't show the apps i had previously. i did what lordvincent said:

    "Once you have installed the stock rooted image, just reflash the rom of your choice and once you sign into the play store just reinstall titanium backup and restore your apps"

    and im pretty sure i didn't format my sdcard before that.

    finally i noticed my internal storage is much lower in size than what i had before i reflashed. it's less than 100mb and i originally had a few gb maybe 2gb for internal storage. sd card storage i have 0.99gb used and 26gb free. i assume to get a larger internal storage size like i had before ill have to use the [GUIDE][CTmod] Rooting the Prevail for Dummies (written by a dummy) in the How to Partition the SD card instructionsagain?but before i do that i have to backup the stuff i wanna keep in a folder on my computer right?btw i read on the ctmod3.80 thread in the last few posts and someone posted they were experiencing lag and crashes recently. they said they had ctmod3.80 since it first came out. i had the same mod since it came out and experienced the same problems. maybe it's time for a new update for that mod???looking forward to hearing from someone who can help me take care of this once and for all.
     
  21. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,445
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    :)
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  22. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    859
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    You make the backup in CWM, and use TB to backup apps and data for restoring certain apps and data. When you restore a CWM backup it puts all apps and data back how it was when you backed up. Now if your having problems, you don't want to use any backup. That's why people said start new and fresh. I make backups once a week so if start having a problem you can revert back to the last backup where everything was running fine. I don't really know if there will be any updates being our phone is old now and so much newer better stuff is out there now. I am using 3.75 myself because I didn't like 3.80. I looked back at this and saw LV answered but this is what I typed and thought I would post it anyways. Hope his and mine help you out.:)
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  23. BloodBlade

    BloodBlade Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    110
    6
    56
    hi guys

    thanks for your advice lordvincent (love yr latest avatar!) and cwhatever. i am going to work on my phone tonight. if i have any further questions i will let you all know. also i was just wondering about something. i know now blood is retired from the developing scene and the fact that the galaxy prevail is old but can anyone recommend any really good roms for this phone? its a shame that blood's rom is no longer being updated but i was just curious. i ask cause there seems to be a lot to choose from and im just interested in something good and popular like blood's was.
     
  24. cwhatever

    cwhatever Life Goes On
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,044
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012

    Mar 4, 2012
    3,044
    859
    313
    Male
    Master Technician
    south central fla
    You can ask different people that ? and they will all say what they are using is the best. You really need to try them all and see what you like and what meets your needs and wants. Even though CT is not being updated (as far as we know) it is still good the way it is, and the others too that are not being updated either. CM and CT are the most popular, so try them and decide. Make backups regularly to switch back and forth and to try new stuff and be able to restore what you like best. Hope this helps.:)
     
    BloodBlade likes this.
  25. jdogrambo

    jdogrambo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    599
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012

    Mar 30, 2012
    599
    74
    78
    I'm running miui and loving it
     

Share This Page

Loading...