1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

My Swype won't work after updating to 2.2 !!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by HTCeasar, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    180
    31
    43
    Error message reads "The Swype package you installed is configured for another device and will operate with limited functionality.

    Please contact Swype about this issue"

    it types when I tap the individual keys but when I Swype I get nothing. Can anyone point in the right direction ? I need Swype on my frozen yogurt.
     

    Advertisement

  2. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,001
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    Uninstall it, reinstall it from the beta email link.

    Has happened every single time I've flashed a rom, suddenly it's a different phone as far as Swype is concerned.
     
    HTCeasar likes this.
  3. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    180
    31
    43
    Man I don't have a link AGAIN
     
  4. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    905
    734
    163
    Attorney
    This method worked for me as well.
     
  5. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    180
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    180
    31
    43
    Found it thanks
     
  6. emicarri

    emicarri Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    11
    4
    16
    I re-sent myself the beta email and i keep getting the message "Sorry! You're not on an android phone, so you cannot download the Swype-Installer."

    any suggestions?

    UPDATE: ok, i had to log into my email using the browser (i was using the stock email app), apparently that helps the swype website recognize that it's an android phone...

    it's downloading now.
     
  7. FailureDrill

    FailureDrill Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    5
    3
    6
    I've tried completely uninstalling the Swype program and the Swype installer, redownloading and installing from the Beta email. After a successful install, I set Swype as the keyboard, but the default keyboard continues to pop up. I've also rebooted the device since installing 2.2. Any ideas?
     
  8. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,001
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    Did you long-press and select Input type?
     
  9. julez007

    julez007 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    6
    0
    5
    I'm having the hardest time with swype... any pointers on how to learn it faster other than practice
     
  10. InstantKarma

    InstantKarma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,001
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    1,001
    158
    153
    Male
    Houston, Tejas
    It comes with tutorials. Hit the Swype key, or from Language and Keyboard > Swype settings.
     
  11. FailureDrill

    FailureDrill Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    5
    3
    6
    Hehe, yeah, figured that out just after posting the question. Thanks for the info!
     
  12. frankiepapa

    frankiepapa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010

    May 15, 2010
    98
    4
    16
    did you use the phone to log into AOL or another mail service and get it from there? I am still having the same issue...
     
  13. crowell392

    crowell392 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    37
    0
    15
    my swype says that i have reached my max downloads ,how do i get more . i have emailed swype but they wont respond:thinking:
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...