1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support My Wife's Droid has LOST IT"S MIND!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by kens97sto171, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. kens97sto171

    kens97sto171 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    Truck Driver
    Florence, KY
    A very strange thing happened this morining. My Wife had powered down her stock Droid without putting it on the charger since it was already fully charged, this is NOT her normal thing, usually she just shuts off the ringer and puts it on the charger.
    Well this morning she powers it up, and the thing has lost it's mind. It asked her to sign in to her Google account as if it was a new phone, another app also asked her to sign in. All her home screen settings are gone back to stock, and it's also asking which launcher to use Helix or standard. I could have sworn I removed helix launcher a while back.
    Also her GMAIL seems to be back to an older version, before they changed to THE SEND button and Reply buttons to the top.
    Also it seems to not remember settings in Beautiful Widgets, if I change the clock skin and then reboot the phone its back to stock skin.
    And I am getting force close on some app called My Yearbook.
    I can't compare to mine, cause I am rooted and running LFY 1.9 Here is what is says in the about phone area.

    VERSION
    2.2.1
    Baseband
    C_01.43.01P
    Kernel
    2.6.32.9-g68eeef5 android-build@apa26#1
    Build Number
    FRG83D

    What the hell happened???? anybody got an idea? I mean its not a really big deal, I may just root hers, and load a custom ROM, but I would like to know WHY this happened??
    Thanks.
    Ken
     

    Advertisement

  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    When was the last time it was powered off? Sounds like it may have tried to revert for some odd reason to previous versions of apps, or else that it just forgot its settings.

    Take a look and see if there are any market updates.

    You may try a battery pull to see if it can remember all of its settings, but if she had the Synchronize settings option checked when she last signed in, it should restore everything anyway, so there should be no harm done.

    She may have to re-load her widgets, but other than that she should be good.
     
  3. kens97sto171

    kens97sto171 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    Truck Driver
    Florence, KY
    She says the phone had not been acutally powered down for at least a few months. She re-signed into Google, cause she had to. I checked and Auto Synch was checked, but nothing came back automatically. I did do a battery pull at some point cause the phone froze up.
    It is STILL forgeting stuff, as I said, Beaut Widgets does not remeber the skins, and now it FC's when you try to apply one.
    The market does not show any updates for the apps, and I KNOW there is one for GMAIL.
    It's almost like the phone reverted to a previous android version, so the apps reverted, and the market thinks all is well and current.
    I am leaning towards rooting and loading LFY 1.9 on it, so we have the same things.
    ARG#%&.. there are days I wish I had an ipho... NO NO NO NO.. Then I would have to wear a tin foil hat to prevent Steve from controlling my thoughts. :)
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    lmfao.

    Hmmm, I wonder if her SDCard has gone stupid? But that shouldn't affect everything that you're experiencing, only some of it...

    You could always try to restore an older stock image using an SBF and then let VZW push the OTA down again - seems like it may not have taken.

    The lat update that got pushed out to phones (The original FroYo) was located in a very weird location, I actually found it when it was pushed to my phone and I went searching, and contact Peter Alfonso to have him verify it was indeed the right one. it was on the SDCard, so you might be able to get into recovery and force the update manually - but that would require being rooted so you could push an alternate recovery onto the phone...
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,478
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    I'd start by going to my gmail account, using my computer, and make sure all syncing data remains as it should.

    If not, that is where the problem lies, not with the device. Sometimes it is Google/gmail which "loses its mind." ;)

    If things look ok there, go into accounts and sync on the device and force a sync to see if that remedies the issues.

    If things are out of whack, with data missing, etc, you know that something happened in there, a hack/intrusion/glitch, etc.
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    GMail synch data will have nothing to do with the appearance of the GMail application in Android (i.e. the missing new buttons at the top of a message to send / save when composing - those should be there based on the version of GMail being used...), though, so something is definitely amiss.
     
  7. kens97sto171

    kens97sto171 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    86
    0
    15
    Truck Driver
    Florence, KY
    Thanks for all the relies. I will check into all those things.

    ken
     
  8. droidygol

    droidygol Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    This is sorta irelevant but my milestone/droid cannot connect to the market it says " a server error occured retry or cancel and return to previous screen"
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,454
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,454
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Have you tried clearing out the cache in the Market app? Settings --> Applications --> Manage Applications --> All tab --> Market --> Clear Cache

    Also, please make your own threads when reporting issue not related to the OP.
     

Share This Page

Loading...