• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Mysterious Contact

Perhaps one of you all can enlighten me here. This is my situation:
I have a phone of my own, an LG of some sort thru Metro PCS and so does my wife but hers is a slightly smaller model. Now, I had been receiving phone spam calls from a place in India claiming to be a car warranty extension service. They call everyday for months. I saved the number in my phone contacts as "scam likely". Now, down the road I see the same number pop up on my wife's phone. Now neither her now I log into my google account from her device, so its not likely a sync issue. It gets weirder though. I started a new job and I've finished my second month and they offered me a business phone for free for work. Its an LG v20. Now I've never used this phone before today. I've never signed into any personal accounts through it. Now low and behold, earlier this evening, I get a call on this new phone from "scam likely"! Same number and contact name! Now neither my work phone or my wife's phone show this contact in the contact list on the phones, but when the number calls, it shows up just the same.

I'm a bit bewildered and am wondering what kind of shenanigans are going on here. This could be quite a security breach. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanx!

Some call blocking services recognize robocallers/telemarketers/scammers as "Scam Likely". It may be if you are using a call blocking service.
Thanks for feedback; however, I'm not using any blocking service, and I specifically saved that number in the past as "scam likely" so that I could recognise it. I've never heard of any service that would label a call as such. Especially, when it is only one such number and its from a local area code. There is something else going on here.

Upvote 0
Nothing out of the ordinary here, phone scammers stop at nothing no matter what device.