• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

N00b and Reception

Hello,

I am new to the android world and have been learning alot from these forums. It seems there is an answer I can not find. I have a Standard 2.1 w/root and recently updated my PRL (I believe that is what is called) But it seems my reception has gotten worse. My wife having an Eris as well did not update and gets amazing reception. Is there a way to revert or fix this?

Eternally,
Shadowbirdy

Hello,

I am new to the android world and have been learning alot from these forums. It seems there is an answer I can not find. I have a Standard 2.1 w/root and recently updated my PRL (I believe that is what is called) But it seems my reception has gotten worse. My wife having an Eris as well did not update and gets amazing reception. Is there a way to revert or fix this?

Eternally,
Shadowbirdy

Welcome to the forums, Shadowbirdy!

Are you looking at the number of bars reported on the notification area at the top of your screen? If so, then you should know that HTC/VZW (we believe) purposely drop the power to the antenna while you are not making calls (this is a battery-saving measure and does seem to have merit and effect).

Your better measure of signal strength would be to look at your settings to view this (Settings -> About phone -> Network and view the "Signal Strength" value, given in dBm(s)).

I'm sitting here in my basement and getting a -90 dBm value with barely one little bar. On my top floor, I only get about -85 dBm (which is better), but the number of bars don't really change. I've gotten about -78 dBm (better still) near work with three bars...its really all about the signal strength and not the number of bars.

I think that the 3G data transfer speeds would also be in-line with the signal strength (i.e., the "better" the value, the higher, more stable your connection and transfer speeds are).