1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support N1 cannot see Intel "My WiFi"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thany, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. thany

    thany Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    I'm having trouble with the wifi connection on my N1. It doesn't seem to be able to see a virtual accesspoint that I've created with Intel My WiFi technology. It's basically the same as Connectify, Virtual Accesspoint, or VirtualRouter. It creates an accesspoint with a wifi card as long as all the conditions are right.

    Some specs:
    Windows 7 32-bit
    Intel WiFi Link 5300
    Android 2.2 (Cyanogen 6)

    The virtual accesspoint is perfectly visible by another laptop, and I can connect to it no problem. This older laptop has only 802.11g, so it does broadcast at 2.4GHz and not at 5GHz.

    Also I tried several encryption algorithms, namely WPA+TKIP, WPA2+TKIP and WPA2+AES-CCMP. None of them make a difference.

    What's more, my N1 phone also can't see any ad-hoc networks. None at all. When I manually add a the My WiFi (or an ad-hoc for that matter) it shows up as "not in range", but it definately is in range.

    I'm going to need this when I go on holiday...
    What do I do this fix this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rusty

    Rusty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,635
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    1,635
    192
    143
    Pompey, UK
  3. thany

    thany Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Ehm, I don't see what I should do with that... do I need to change some config file somewhere or something??

    Also, this problem is primarily about Intel My WiFi, which is *not* an ad-hoc connection at all. It's a full (although virtual) accesspoint. And Android/N1 should be able to see regular accesspoints. In fact, the whole point of choosing My WiFi over an ad-hoc connection is so that my phone can connect.
     
  4. thany

    thany Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Sorry but I don't understand still... What should I do?
     
  5. thany

    thany Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    14
    0
    15
    Hm, for some reason it suddenly started working. But still, I have had a situation where a laptop could connect, and my phone couldn't. I'll do some more testing and post back the results.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...