1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Naand and roms?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by screennamie, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. screennamie

    screennamie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    213
    9
    36
    If I create a backup and flash a different rom will I still have to reinstall all my apps again on the new rom or will it the naand back up restore all them and my settings?

    Also does it matter if either rom is sense or not.. just asking, gearing up for all the new roms supposedly coming out. :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    Nand is pretty much everything. If you flash anything at all, then do a NAND restore, you're pretty much re-flashing your phone with the NAND backup.

    The Nand contains a LOT of things. If you flash EvilEris, then do a nand restore from your 0_3, you will effectively be back exactly 100% on your 0_3. It won't even matter that you flashed EvilEris.

    In essence, it's like, mostly, creating your own flash. A backup for your phone. You could smash it, get a new Eris, root it, pop in your SD card, and restore your backup.
     
  3. screennamie

    screennamie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    213
    9
    36
    Sweetness, another reason to like root :)

    Wait .. did you say EvilEris? I see xda has made a new rom, dl as I type.

    Have you tried it? any good?
     
  4. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    It's very good, and very fast.

    I'm waiting for a newer version of it to come out, then I'm going to flash that.

    Right this very second, I'm on my 0_3 nand backup that I have all set up the way I like it.
     
  5. T2noob

    T2noob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    471
    98
    53
    Southern Californina
    Yea there are lots of things that are messed up on the Evil rom So I just went back to my v3 back up. Its fast But lots of things are messed up in my opinion Evil was not release ready at all.
     
  6. screennamie

    screennamie Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    213
    9
    36
    good to know.. was going to install it after lunch here, but maybe I'll hold off till the second version.
     
  7. tokyoglow

    tokyoglow Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    37
    1
    36
    wow i was about to do the same when i got home today, but it seems like waiting it out would be the best choice here


    I cant wait for a nice stable custom rom to have motivation to flash to.

    Once you're rooted, can you flash back and forth between ROMs?
     
  8. pkopalek

    pkopalek Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    837
    117
    113
    Computer Technician / Systems Implementation Manag
    Buffalo, NY
    Yes. But that gets annoying, assuming you are (properly) wiping data and cache between. Having to set up your google stuff every time and your syncs, and apps, and scenes, etc.

    I flash between NAND backups. That's better, once you get a couple of ROMs you like, have NAND backups of them.

    So I have a 0_3 i nand backup daily (or bart, if you prefer), and if I switch to another custom ROM (or a different nand backup), I can just boot to recovery, save it again, and then go to my old nand.

    I have an 0_3 nand backup and an evileris nand backup. Using 0_3 right now until cleaner evileris comes out
     
  9. magicelf

    magicelf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    86
    2
    16
    Can you do as many nand backups with different ROMs or will it keep deleting the previous backup?

    Also, is anyone else having problems syncing Facebook contacts with Evil Eris? Not one of my contacts is linked to Facebook. Might wanna go back to 0.3 if it won't sync.
     
  10. T2noob

    T2noob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    471
    98
    53
    Southern Californina
    Nandroid-->deviceId-->backups separated by folders each folder is a back up. The name of the folder tells you when the back up was made.
    bds-20100323-2142
    That back up was made on march 3rd 2010 at 21:42.
    So basically you can make as many back ups as your sd card can hold.
     
  11. magicelf

    magicelf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    86
    2
    16
    Cool. And what all does it backup? Will my home screens stay the same as well as apps and contacts?
     
  12. T2noob

    T2noob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    471
    98
    53
    Southern Californina
    Yea makes back up of everything. When you restore the back up. Your home screen will be the same along with the apps you had.
     
  13. magicelf

    magicelf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    86
    2
    16
    Nice. Thanks. Glad I did the backup before I switched! And how do I restore it? Do I have to do a wipe first, or just click nand restore?
     
  14. T2noob

    T2noob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    471
    98
    53
    Southern Californina
    Boot to recover(vol up and power button)-->wipe-->wipe data/factory and wipe dalvik-cache..Then press vol down to get back to the main menu-->backup/restore -->nand restore and choose the back up you want to restore.
     
  15. magicelf

    magicelf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    86
    2
    16
    What is dalvik-cache?
     
  16. T2noob

    T2noob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    471
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    471
    98
    53
    Southern Californina
    The dalvik-cache directory holds all of the pre-compiled .dex files created from the .apk and .jar files in your phone
    Its so apps and stuff run faster so it doesn't have to make a copy of the files every time something starts up.
     
  17. magicelf

    magicelf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    86
    2
    16
    Sweet. Thanks for the info. Would it mess up the phone if I didn't wipe that?
     
  18. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    815
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    815
    111
    93
    So I came across one thread that showed NAND is on our phone, just have to get to it after reboot. WHich one should i do? Just NAND or the one that was NAND + something else, cant rem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...