1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

nand backups don't restore.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Shotgun84, Sep 23, 2011.

  1. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I have a few backups made a various times but after restoring, my phone won't boot, except for one which is in the middle.
    Any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    Use the one that boots :D
    Are you getting any error messages with the backups that dont boot? How long do the ones that dont boot take to restore compared to the one that does boot?
     
  3. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    It varies between them. One of them will restore in a coupe of seconds so I could tell that one wouldn't work before I even tried to reboot. The others will take a few minutes and it reads off everything that's being restored, then says complete. But when I reboot I never get past the SGS screen. I've checked the folders in cwm and the backups have all 6 files. I'm confused, if it was the first backup that flashed and non of the others I'd say corrupted sd but since its one in the middle I don't know.
     
  4. steslatt

    steslatt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,145
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    1,145
    303
    163
    Male
    Design Engineer
    Manchester
    what version of CWM are you using? One from CF-root?
     
  5. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Boot into recovery, restore one of the problematic backups, but wipe cache and dalvik-cache before rebooting the system normally. That might be all that's needed.
     
  6. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Yeah its the one from cf root, 4.0.0.2 or something like that.

    I've tried a cache and dalvik wipe and it still didn't work.
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I'm out of ideas, sorry. Nandroid is normally so reliable.... I've not had a failure since my Hero days.
     
  8. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,976
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,976
    3,799
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    I noticed something earlier when doing a titanium recover. My saved cwm app is 2.00 for some reason. Don't know why as I'm pretty sure I've only ever had 4.0.whatever it was. So tried turning my phone off and then boot into recovery. Then tried another backup. It still didn't boot. Anything to do with that?
     
  9. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    The CWM app is currently at v2.0. The Clockworkmod Recovery installed by CF-Root alongside it is v4.0.0.x. IOW everything is normal.
     
    Shotgun84 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...