1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root NANDROID backup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rossco_Pee, May 12, 2010.

  1. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    270
    12
    38
    Iowa
    When I do a nandroid backup, do I first need to wipe data/dvalik first? I've searched the threads, but no one has mentioned doing a wipe before a nandroid.
     

    Advertisement

  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    NO. this defeats the purpose of a backup.

    backups save a "snapshot" of your phone so that you can go back to it exactly as it was when you did the backup. if you do a wipe before you backup then all of your settings will be gone.
     
    orchard_112 and Rossco_Pee like this.
  3. magicelf

    magicelf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    86
    2
    16
    But you should do a wipe before you restore a backup, right?
     
  4. char561

    char561 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    121
    12
    38
    Yes, always wipe before restoring a backup or installing a new rom
     
  5. Philosophre

    Philosophre Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    105
    2
    36
    California
    Personally, I just restore. I don't do a wipe first. I have yet hit any walls of failure from this. But then again wiping takes only 1 minute. But I do wipe for sure when I flash a ROM.
     
  6. andrizoid

    andrizoid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,266
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    2,266
    358
    163
    no need to wipe before a restore either. wipes are only needed when flashing a new rom
     
  7. erebus

    erebus Member
    Rank:
     #784
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    35
    0
    35
    IT Field
    Indianapolis
    If you have multiple NANDbackups, is the file with the higher filename number the newest?
     
  8. libraryclg

    libraryclg Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    The NAND backups are according to date, so for example "BDS-20100512-0349" is newer than "BDS-20100512-0240".
     
    flspnr likes this.
  9. vermithrax423

    vermithrax423 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    18
    0
    15
    how long does it take for your phone to restart after you do a restore? this is the first time i have tried to do a restore and it has been sitting on the first startup image for a while now... how long should it take? if i have to i will just reflash the rom, just figured since i did a backup it would save the time of reinstalling all my apps and such
     
  10. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    It may take a while. You did do a wipe before you restored right?

    It may not be essential, but it takes just a few seconds just to be sure.
     
  11. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,030
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    2,030
    264
    163
    I'm a cableguy....really
    Monterey, CA
    Is there a different process for doing a NAND restore is I have a2sd?
    I though i read that somewhere but now cannot find it.

    I did both wipes... nand restore...
    and now it's just going back and forth betrween the Verizonwireless sceen and the HTC screen....
    been about 15 minutes now.

    I have other Nand restores i can try, but i wanted to see if anyone had any tips for me :(
     
  12. MJL

    MJL Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    252
    27
    43
    If you are trying to go from an app2sd rom to one that doesn't have it you need to wipe your ext partition first. Basically delete all your apps.

    Sent from my Aloysius Eris using Tapatalk
     
  13. DjCalvin

    DjCalvin Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    13
    3
    36
    You CAN rename these folders too..
    Just do not put a space in them.. Ie: Rom at May 18th
    Just name that: Rom_At_May_18th
    or whatever your choosing...
    I found that trying to decipher the names with which rom of the day I was playing with was a nightmare.. saw that you could rename and went with that..

    a Space in them will cause an error saying cant open <nandroid backup folder> when you try to do a restore.
     
  14. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Just a heads up about renaming your Nands. DO NOT put anything other than a - or _ in your new name. I put an & in a couple of my backups and It wouldn't restore. So I had to go to a very old backup, go into astro and remove the & from the 2 backups I used it in and then go back to recovery and restore the newly named backups. Looking back on it, it wasn't that big of a deal, but at the time it sucked and if I can help someone avoid what I went through by posting this then I'm all for it
     

Share This Page

Loading...