1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Nandroid - How?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bearly, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. Bearly

    Bearly Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,011
    78
    128
    I can boot into recovery but there is no option to run a backup.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tats_06

    tats_06 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    397
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    397
    27
    43
    I don't believe there is a recovery available yet for Fascinate, so that would be why. ;)
     
    Bearly likes this.
  3. xliderider

    xliderider Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    1,232
    192
    143
    Where Diamond Head Stay
    Yes, android's stock recovery doesn't have the backup option. Which is very lame IMO.
     
  4. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    3,591
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,591
    363
    173
    California
    While using launcher pro: hit the menu/preferences/back up homescree & settings.
     
  5. Bearly

    Bearly Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,011
    78
    128
    I've used that but it's only really to backup the HOMESCREEN, not make an image of the entire ROM the way Nandroid does.
     
  6. eleazar

    eleazar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    167
    65
    73
    Ohio
    We all need to hound @clockworkmod on twitter :p Hopefully he's already working on it. He = Koush if you don't know who makes the recoveries.
     
  7. semmtexx

    semmtexx Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    27
    2
    16
    The reason that you cannot do a Nandroid backup (which is a complete ROM image backup) is because there is no custom recovery image(lookup Amon Ra customer recovery image) made for the Fascinate as of yet. Basically, now that you guys have root access on the Fascinate (my bro just got one and rooted it and had this sort of question last night), you need to be careful what you do until there is a custom recovery made (and subsequently are able to do a nandroid backup) as you now have access to the OS's root architecture and can easily wreak havoc and or brick your device depending on what you try to push or delete from the device on a system level basis. The good thing about the Android development community is that these type of things(custom recovery) tend to get created fairly quickly. Currently it seems that the XDA site is down, but I would say XDA is your best source for android development and if you are looking to get a custom recovery for your Facinate, then that is the place to bookmark. If I had to guess, someone will probaly crank one out in the next few days or so. Good luck!! and remember READ all directions when it comes to rooting and system editing and always backup when you are unsure of a development step you are going to take with your new device. Have fun!
     
    Bearly likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...