1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root nandroid md5 missmatch

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ducky1979, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    so i renamed the nandroid backup, installed a different rom and decided to go back and now im getting md5 missmatch, so my backup is done for!! im gonna have to start from scratch again!!! and i checked all the other ones i renamed and they dont work either, so a word of warning, DONT RENAME NANDROIDS!!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. GingaB

    GingaB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010

    Dec 26, 2010
    856
    64
    78
    London, UK
    i have that problem esp when nandroiding back a diffferent version or different rom. But I dont rename my nandroids and it still happens. I wonder if the problem lies with the recovery. What recovery are you using?
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    It SHOULD work. Many people here have done it. Although maybe they used rom manager?!
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,032
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,032
    16,551
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Nope, always rename my nandroids, no problems. In fact I did have an md5 mismatch this week, but that was with one I hadn't renamed yet!
     
  5. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,685
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,685
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    The last time this happened to me was because my sd card was going South. Have you tried switching off the verification?

    EDIT: You could always recreate the md5 sum and save it to the phone, this aint as bad as it sounds!
     
  6. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
    Since the backups are in their respective folders, I assume the renaming was done on the folder names without touching the files themselves. That should have been indeed OK.
     
  7. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    tips please!

    also i didnt touch the files themselves, is it possible to turn off the need for the md5? just this once.
    if its failed once what are the chances of it working again?
    the sd card is virtually new, only had it for about a month.
    ive had to start from scratch with everything, which is a ball ache with miui coz its had like 5 updates since the fresh rom was installed and the same one is the only one available, but ive just about done it all now, just got to syncmypix and all that and join contacts.
    i think in future ill name a new folder and put the nandroid in there, or backup before i try to rename.
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    23,032
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    23,032
    16,551
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Got to say that card error was my first thought when I got a mismatch. Hope it is a one-off as 32GB cards are still a bit pricey (I'm using a 16, but waiting for prices to fall on 32s).
     
  9. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    i hope so too, otherwise play.com will be having it back, is there any way to test the sd to see if it is being faulty?

    ok so ive found the md5 file within the nandroid, its got one for each image, is there a way to re-encode the nandroid with some sort of md5 generator?
     
  10. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
    AFV (Android File Verifier)? This should do nandroid backup directory MD5 verification.
     
  11. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    How does this help with the md5 error? Sorry If its a dumb question, does it make a new md5?
     
  12. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
    It can help to calculate a nandroid md5 checksum, which you can check again next time you want to restore that backup.
    For now, open it, select md5 file in backup and select for validation. If the validation fails, then you know something is wrong with the backup.
     
  13. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,685
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,685
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    The md5 Back up is there to check that what's being installed on your phone is good and true and thus is less likely to end in a bad flash or restore. Now this is a long shot and might not be worth while; create another md5 which should be identical to the one your phone is looking for, I'll post a link when I found it, .....................OK....I've just looked into this further, and lets not go there.

    One thing is for certain though, renaming a nandyback does not alter its md5 sum! My only thought is;

    A. You now have a bad card
    B. You've formatted your card in between roms,

    Hence the Nandyback md5 sum be different
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    sounds like a bad card if all nandroids are affected imo

    use h2testw which will test the cards integrety, its in the amazing dropbox of tools
     
  15. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    well i just used AFV and for that particular nandroid this is how it looks and there is no md5 file
    [​IMG]

    doesnt look very good does it, now i wonder if because i was charging the phone at the same time as making the nandroid, is it possible that the card got too hot and these errors occured as a consequence.

    the other nandroids pass the afv with no problems.
     
  16. Usta

    Usta Android Expert
    Rank:
     #53
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    2,585
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    2,585
    1,375
    433
    The Netherlands
    Looks like that backup is a toast...
     
  17. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    I tested the remaining 6.5gb of the SD and it passed no problem, so then I created a new nandroid and tested the md5 and that passed aswell, so I can only put it down to the card being too hot, the phone was very warm, also I had a problem restoring my sms's, that kept failing so I just used another app and copied the xml file and it worked fine, so that's a new one.
     
  18. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,113
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,113
    1,010
    313
    UK
    do yourself a favour and periodically copy the nandroids to pc just incase this happens again
     
  19. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    I usually do as a rule, I hadn't though since getting the larger SD card, but I will in future, I also think I will get the phone set up just how I want, do another nandroid, back it up, rename it on the phone and then try doing a restore. And hope it works.
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Take 2. Rename one and not the other one. Test both and record the results.
     
  21. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,685
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,685
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Sometimes a fresh install is a good idea, a back up also copies any problems. People get obsessed with back ups sometimes!
     
  22. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Well I'm gonna do exactly that next rom round, I'm currently jotting down my top, can't live without apps and next time I will reformat my SD, repartition it and only put back my pictures and music. That way it will be a completely fresh install. And whilst the SD is empty ill test it fully for errors.
    I am only gonna use backups as purely that, a backup. If I'm trying a new Rom,
     
  23. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #92
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,685
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,685
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    If you weally weally weally need the data, you can unzip it on a desktop and simply extract what you want?
     
  24. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    Did this tonight, and, believe it or not I tried to restore the renamed one and straight away it said md5 mismatch, so I tried the other one which I had left as is and it restored perfect. It's a weird one, it would be good if a fellow miui user could test with their desire to see if its somehow Rom specific? Not sure how this could be though as recovery has nothing to do with the Rom, but maybe it has to do with the backup, anyway if someone else could test I would be really interested with the results.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...