• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root nandroid vz update.zip???

toker11

Nov 16, 2009
i guess im confused with these 2...im new at this and am trying to learn and its making me love this site and my droid all over again. i watched the videos and got my droid to the smoked glass 4.5. i love it but it hasnt itched my scratch yet. i want wifi tethering and live wallpapers. im reading that some of these ROMS have them. anyone know which one has both of these? and what is the difference between a nandroid backup and an update.zip? sorry if these are very noob questions. any help in appreciated guys!

As a word of advice concerning the update.zip vs nandroid installation methods:

Whenever a new rom version is released, one seems to work better than the other. I generally check the last few pages in the forum where you can download bugless beast to get feedback from other user's experiences.

I used nandroid consistently without fail, but one version of bugless beast had some problems (initially) with the nandroid backup. Luckily, I read what people were saying, and went with the update.zip method, and it worked well.

Generally, I prefer to use nandroid. It's a cleaner installation, though it requires some additional steps to restore your data. My best advice is to read up until your eyes bleed then read some more.

Reactions: ccousinsjr
Upvote 0
That's a matter of preference, for comparison sake I will say that the v0.4 release is the bleeding edge, as it's 2.1 based. That said, 1.1 may be more stable, as it's been under development for a longer period of time.

This is speculation, since I don't have either one installed right now. Look at the feedback and feature sets of both and decide for yourself!

Upvote 0