1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Nandroid warning: Make sure you have enough free space on your sd card

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rushmore, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    When nandroid does a back-up, it does not error out or warn if the card runs out of space. It will go through all of the back up steps and even produce an MD5 parity check, but it is checking the file created- NOT the actual targeted files as part of its verification process (only the parity of the final file created).

    I discovered this (almost) the hard way, but noticed that my card showed zero space. The back-up should have been about 850mb, but was 395mb. I removed some files from my sd card and repeated the process and then did a titanium back up of apps.

    Shortly after backing up, I tried to install the King #2 kernel and my Inc got stuck in a boot loop. Had I not caught the Nandroid back-up issue, I would have been in a rough situation.

    The sad thing is I have a 32gb card, but is loaded with PSX games, other game roms and MP3's. Even without this stuff and a smaller card, several nandroid back-ups can accumulate and take up more space than you expect.

    added: I am not sure if Titanium also does not verify the targeted files after a back-up.

    In summary: Check you card for space before backing up stuff! :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. ArmchairBear

    ArmchairBear Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    213
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    213
    19
    58
    I assumed (wrongly) that the devs who made the Clockwork mod recovery would have some kind of check for disk space before running the backup. Good post. Maybe should be stickied... for a while at least until there's a fix or warning message shown before the backup is run.

    Maybe there's no way of estimating disk space before the actual backup is made, is there?
     
  3. DIncmanDan

    DIncmanDan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    63
    7
    16
    House Parent
    South Miami, Fl
    I had this issue, I had to restore and the backup was incomplete, took me a while before I figured out the problem. I ended having to restore to a way earlier backup, it sucked so bad that I always make sure I have enough space...
     
  4. Dsoto87

    Dsoto87 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    121
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    121
    13
    38
    Wow your backups are huge. Mine average about 320mb. Thanks for the tip though
     
  5. colonel51

    colonel51 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    That's huge? My backups are usually 1.2 gb! Of course, I do have over 400 apps...
    Anyways, I'm backing up right now and I only have 914 Megs free. What should I do? Just wait it out, delete it, and try again after clearing enough space? Or can it cause damage?
     

Share This Page

Loading...