1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Nav w/traffic rerouting?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Liquoredolce, May 5, 2010.

  1. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    252
    32
    43
    Question for you experts out there.

    I love the real time traffic on my Inc, my question is this; does the Inc's nav reroute you to avoid traffic? I know some other nav's do and some don't. I'm just wondering if it takes traffic into account and will tell you to avoid a highway or whatever to get you around it quicker.

    Has anyone experienced this yet? What are your thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    I think it will do it the same way as maps. For example, if there's traffic/construction, it will give you that route, plus one or two others with their apx times.

    Unfortunately I haven't experienced this yet.. Hopefully someone will find out soon :D
     
  3. shh

    shh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010

    Feb 3, 2010
    83
    20
    38
    Retired
    NE USA
    Click on layers and one of the options is traffic. This will show colors to show how heavy traffic is. Not sure about auto re-route because of heavy traffic.
     
  4. andydrew

    andydrew Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    27
    5
    16
    I don't believe that traffic re-routing in available. In fact, even with the traffic layer turned on, you really can't be sure how long the delay is. Only the color of the type of delay.

    On my TomTom One the traffic module actually provides information on how long the delay is so that the TomTom can effectively re-route that can get to the destination faster.

    Features of Google Maps for mobile at the link below. Notice that it says 'Real time traffic helps you find the fastest route' vs. any description regarding automatic re-routing due to traffic.

    http://www.google.com/mobile/maps/

    More info on the navigation function at the link below. "Traffic View - An indicator glows green, yellow, or red based on the current traffic along your route. Touch it to see traffic ahead of you."

    http://www.google.com/mobile/navigation/
     
    Liquoredolce likes this.
  5. wooten

    wooten Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    20
    6
    16
    S.E. Michigan
    I Would like to see that too.
    Also an option for alternate root
     
  6. wooten

    wooten Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    20
    6
    16
    S.E. Michigan
    I Would like to see that too.
    Also an option for alternate route.
     
  7. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    252
    32
    43
    Thanks guys.

    I'll be driving on 95 around DC today, so by the end of the day I'll probably have a good answer for you unfortunately :(


    :p
     
  8. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    252
    32
    43
    Hey guys, figured something cool out.

    It appears that if you just use the nav in normal mode, you don't see traffic, or times accounting for traffic. Even if you select layers-view traffic, it doesn't appear to account for traffic, HOWEVER ---

    If you view route info with traffic, then select "detour", it will list multiple routes, all showing traffic conditions AND adjust times according to traffic conditions. Normally my route to work will say 26 or so minutes, I did that this morning and it adjusted to 54 I believe (I live around DC, great huh?).

    I wish it would adjust for traffic normally, but either way this is an extremely nice feature to be able to see side-by-side detours, the mileage, and the time they will take adjusted for traffic!
     
  9. dibs ODDJOB

    dibs ODDJOB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    416
    107
    68
    Google Maps DOES and always has calculated the ETA with traffic taken in to account, which is the number in the corner while you are navigating. When you get directions, it tells you how long it would take with zero traffic, then tells you the ETA with current traffic right below it. My ride home says 19 min, and 26 min in traffic, which is scarily accurate. It also updates the ETA as you drive, so the closer you are the better the estimate.

    As far as automatically telling you how to get there quicker, I believe it takes that in to account when you first search for directions to a destination. i.e. The first route they give you is there best guess at which is the quickest, with current traffic taken in to account.

    If you are stuck in traffic, you could have it redo the directions. Or you could just take another route and it will reroute you based on your new direction.
     
  10. necosino

    necosino Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    1,962
    338
    163
    Accountant and semi-pro poker player
    Upstate NY
    Dibs is correct. I go to the casino about three times a month. Normally I take highway A to Highway B to Interstate I. However, this time due to construction on highway B, Nav took me from Highway A to Route X, because it was faster than going through the traffic on highway B.

    Very, very nice :)
     
  11. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    252
    32
    43
    I never noticed the little number, I'll have to check that out.

    It definitely doesn't always select the quickest route. There have been multiple times that I've selected detour immediately after opening nav and it will show an option that's 10 or so minutes less. Maybe it's taking other things into account, but it's not always giving you the quickest route. It is usually close though.

    Thanks guys!
     
  12. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    546
    158
    93
    To clarify, re-routing is not automatic, and it seems Maps will always pick the standard assumed fastest route first, but drive time is indicated with traffic taken into account, and when you ask for alternate routes, they are also presented with adjusted drive times.

    My rule of thumb: If I see a red dot next to the time estimate on my current route, I check for alternates.
     
  13. lizm

    lizm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    329
    51
    53
  14. suprafreak1000

    suprafreak1000 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    254
    95
    53
    Colorado
    Talk about a thread bump..
     
  15. jikhead

    jikhead Android Expert
    Rank:
     #190
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    784
    183
    123
    I just drove the other day from small town Arkansas to DFW area with the update applied to my Nav app. I hit a couple slow downs during rush hour traffic and didn't get any reroutes. I would've really liked a reroute on the exit off the interstate. It became a bottleneck and deadstop and the Nav still wanted me to take the next exit within the logjam. Fortunately I was able to sneak off the exit just before the "said exit" and continue on the access road to avoid the entire traffic jam...just wish it say it coming in real-time.
     
  16. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,869
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    1,869
    267
    173
    Florida
    Yeah, this is a GOOD thing. :) It means that folks are searchng, and posting in a thread that is on the same subject, rather than creating a new thread. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...