1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Navigation App

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Scarekrow, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. Scarekrow

    Scarekrow Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    So first off I would like to say i am impressed with the free Google Navigation App. The visual display is nice and the auto-correction, if you make a wrong turn, recalculates quickly which is something the old Verizon Navigator really stunk at doing. HOWEVER, the key to not missing the turns in most cases is knowing what lane you need to be in. I find this app does not give you a heads up notification of what lane you should be in prior to it telling you to turn right or left. I have found you have to rely on the digital display and look at the way the map turns in order to try and 'figure' out what direction you should be going in. pretty dangerous as you should keep your eyes on the road.
    Not to mention, that i live in NYC and trying to determine which way the arrow is pointing when the map is cluttered with over passes, numerous highway interchanges, wrap arounds etc its becomes difficult.

    Is there a site that this message can be posted on? I know google is all about being open for developers. Maybe this function can be added in as an update to the Navigator?
     

    Advertisement

  2. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    6,079
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    navigation is still in the beta faze, be patient im sure many more features are coming
     
  3. Carl C

    Carl C Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    238
    Posts:
    6,062
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009

    Sep 11, 2009
    6,062
    38
    238
    Student
    London
    You guys are lucky that you officially have Google Navigation , I can't wait to properly use this in the UK :)
     
  4. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    633
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    633
    59
    78
    ATL
    Or the Hero gets an update to just be able to run it. :(
     
  5. Trinidon

    Trinidon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    6
    2
    6
    The motorola Droid doesn't have it yet :-/
     
  6. thegreen

    thegreen Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    310
    49
    63
    PA
    Actually, the Droid was the first phone to include this feature.
     
  7. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    I've used it several times on my Droid.
     
  8. Juneau

    Juneau Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    140
    6
    56
    Don't you mean the Cliq doesn't have it yet since that is what you appear to have?
     

Share This Page

Loading...