1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Navigation Icon??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tech Addiction, May 11, 2010.

  1. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93

    Advertisement

  2. TheGoatLantern

    TheGoatLantern Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    1,910
    471
    163
    Where it's hot
    As far as I know it hasn't updated yet
     
  3. Zozz

    Zozz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    49
    8
    16
    Yea, the Navigation Icon is a no go. I don't mind but if this is done deliberately then it shows how mess up the market fragmentation is but, then it could be also be a bug. I hope it's the latter.
     
  4. Buckwild

    Buckwild Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    68
    12
    18
    I d/l the new Google maps and I don't see any option for a Navigation Icon in widgets or programs.
     
  5. TangledThorns

    TangledThorns Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    93
    20
    18
    Mine is updated and no icon here. HTC Sense issue?
     
  6. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    Okay cool, I thought I was missing something. A dedicated Nav Icon would be nice to clean up the desktop. I don't like the full size icons that block all of the desktop background.
     
  7. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    I'm using both Sense and Helix desktops and neither show the Icon. TheGoatLantern mentioned that it may not be updated yet. I hope that is the case and not just a compatibility issue with the Incredible.
     
  8. Zozz

    Zozz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    49
    8
    16
    Guys reset your phone. I tuned mine off and it showed up.
     
  9. BoozeRob

    BoozeRob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010

    Apr 19, 2010
    162
    75
    53
    Seattle
    I got it. I updated the maps app in the market then check for the icon and it wasnt there.... However, after I restarted the phone, it was available in my programs and list and for a shortcut.
     
    Tech Addiction likes this.
  10. DenverRalphy

    DenverRalphy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    440
    85
    53
    Aurora CO
    I've just installed the update, and see the new Destination Sharing and Bike Routes. I don't see anything new with the nav icon though. At least, I see nothing like the icon in the pic on the blog. The only shortcuts I see are those icons that were available before. (ie... home, soccer, work etc..)

    [edit]nvm... Saw the other replies while submitting this. I reset device and all is good.
     
  11. fish2587

    fish2587 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010

    Mar 12, 2010
    359
    85
    53
    they're just referring to an icon that comes up in the status bar during navigation. it's a blue arrow. there's no new navigation icon in the app list or anything.


    edit: i'll reset my phone, looks like i could be wrong.
     
  12. cortland1998

    cortland1998 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    192
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    192
    99
    53
    Male
    Nuclear Security
    WA State
    My icon. Haven't messed with the app yet but the icon is there. Kind of pointless.
     
  13. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    Looks like I didn't have the "latest" update. Normally the updates tell me when they are available but this one I had to search for. Downloading now and will restart after finished. Thanks for the help. I know the Google Maps were just updated like yesterday but apparently not this update.

    Edit: Just updated and now the Icon is present. Starting to look like a real GPS... LMAO
     
  14. Mattb7

    Mattb7 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    39
    9
    16
    reboot the phone, then long press on your home screen, and choose program, its in there. I had a hard time finding it at first too.
     
  15. dibs ODDJOB

    dibs ODDJOB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    416
    107
    68
    Question: can I just open up Navigation and just let it track me as I drive, WITHOUT having to put in a destination? Most GPS devices let you do this, it's sometimes nice to have while you are driving around somewhere new, without a specific place to go.
     
  16. Mattb7

    Mattb7 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    39
    9
    16
    You can do that maps, not in navigation.
     
  17. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    You can but you will have to turn your screen time-out off. Only in Navigation mode is the screen time-out disabled automatically.
     
  18. dibs ODDJOB

    dibs ODDJOB Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    416
    107
    68

    How do you do it? Navigation, not the screen timeout.
     
  19. rubber soul

    rubber soul Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    21
    4
    16
    I have no navigation shortcut icon. Restarted and everything. Just an option for a directions shortcut.
     
  20. rubber soul

    rubber soul Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    21
    4
    16
    Update...found it.
     
  21. Proph

    Proph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    369
    99
    53
    Houston, TX
    how many times did you have to try to get the update? i have tried probably 10 times throughout the day and the download fails. is there an alternative place to get the update instead of the market?
     
  22. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    Go to Market and click on your downloads. It will be listed in there with an update available.
     
  23. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    I was refering to the Maps, but you have to disable screen time out or the screen will cut off. Maps will let you track your route as you go without navigating to somewhere specific.
     
  24. Proph

    Proph Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    369
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    369
    99
    53
    Houston, TX
    that is how i am trying it, however it always starts to download then says "download failed"
     
  25. Tech Addiction

    Tech Addiction Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    856
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    856
    134
    93
    You may have to wait till you can go wireless connection. I downloaded mine while on my home network through wireless.
     

Share This Page

Loading...