1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Navigation in Canada?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by elninost0rm, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. elninost0rm

    elninost0rm Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Possible to use the GPS to navigate in Canada (even without data?)

    With root, of course. I figured someone would have enabled this somewhere down the line. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    341
    18
    38
    is a smokey place.
    I just took a trip to Montreal and even though I had data, I extended my plan temporarily, Nav did not work in Canada.
     
  3. elninost0rm

    elninost0rm Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    Thanks for the reply.

    I know it doesn't work on vanilla, but I've heard that there are rooted fixes that enable it. Not sure, though.
     
  4. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    Copilot+North America Map :) Works offline too.
     
  5. ericks17

    ericks17 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    203
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    203
    4
    36
  6. Penguissimo

    Penguissimo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    272
    86
    53
    Did they ever fix the landscape bug on the Droid?
     
  7. elninost0rm

    elninost0rm Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    12
    0
    15
  8. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    341
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    341
    18
    38
    is a smokey place.

    ..... I was using Cyanogen when I made the trip... so it doesn't work on a rooted phone either... and i haven't heard of a way to enable it as of yet... other that the xda hack posted here.
     
  9. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    506
    19
    63
    Northwestern PA, USA
    Nix the copilot idea.. I can't even get it to download the maps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...