• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Need a Weather app and IM app

darkcyber

Android Expert
Nov 12, 2009
North Alabama
Ok, I am brand new to the android OS and I am using a new Motorola Droid and I need a couple of suggestions on software. I know I can find a bunch via the 'market' on my droid, but I need some specific apps.

1. I need an IM program that supports Jabber/XMPP protocol and supports GROUP CHAT. I hi-light the group chat part, because that is the most important thing I need. On my BB Storm, I could find IM programs that supported Jabber/XMPP all day long, but NONE did group chat.

2. I need a weather app that will display radar maps with the radar data and will overlay warning boxes. i.e. will fill in the county with a color showing a Tornado Warning, Severe Thunderstorm warning...etc. and watches as well. I used Berry Weather on my BB Storm with a modified link to the Weather Underground to accomplish this.

Thanks in advance! I know a lot can be found on the 'market' but the descriptions are not always the best.

Anyone have any suggestions? I have installed a few weather apps, IMap Weather being one of those and it claims to offer watches and warning, but I have seen none on Droid IMap. I did check out their web site and could see watch/warning boxes on the same map on their site, but not on the phone. I do have those turned on.

So, any other apps out there that might do this? And are there any 'group chat' IM programs?

Upvote 0
For weather, I use the full version of Weather Widget, which shows the time, date, and weather on my home screen. If you click on it, it'll give you the weather for the next three days. It does not show you the local radar, however, but there is a separate app called Radar Now that will.

As for your IM, I don't know. There's Meebo IM, but I don't know if it'll group chat.

Upvote 0