1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root need a2sd script for cwm 3.+

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by godfeast, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. godfeast

    godfeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    59
    1
    16
    Male
    Florida
    The script darktremor has posted on his site doesnt install with cwm recovery 5.0.2.8 on OS gingerbread 2.3.6, as i get a update-script is no longer supported error.

    Is there an updated a2sd script that I can flash?
     

    Advertisement

  2. KageBeast

    KageBeast Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,732
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    1,732
    272
    173
    Male
    Twilight Town

    Either way that script doesn't work with the admire
     
  3. B198301

    B198301 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    69
    9
    16
    it does work. just did it to mine last night out of curiosity
     
  4. KageBeast

    KageBeast Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,732
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    1,732
    272
    173
    Male
    Twilight Town
    And your 100% sure it does? Cause I know boraichee tried to add it to his rom and it didn't work and even I flashed it but it didn't work so I'm pretty sure it doesnt
     
  5. B198301

    B198301 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    69
    9
    16
    when u flash it needs to be done from when u flash rom all over and use terminal emulator with the a2sd commands from ascend forum. just don't move data only apps and dalvik.
     
  6. B198301

    B198301 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    69
    9
    16
    and it didn't work on monster 5.3 because no one opened terminal emulator and typed the comabd to move the apps and start the a2sd flag which will put apps to SD ext
     
  7. KageBeast

    KageBeast Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,732
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    1,732
    272
    173
    Male
    Twilight Town
    Yeah that first part confused me
     
  8. B198301

    B198301 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    69
    9
    16
    instructions are in all things root
     
  9. godfeast

    godfeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    59
    1
    16
    Male
    Florida
    Found it, had issues with formatting ext3 partition, but learned and its all good now.

    Thanks guys.
     
  10. godfeast

    godfeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    59
    1
    16
    Male
    Florida
    Damn, reformatted phone a few times and lost the script.

    I AM NOT looking for a darktremors script or a link2sd script.

    I want a a2sd script that willl work with cwm 5.2.8 on my admire.

    Can someone post please? I cant even remember where I got the last working script - googling for days on end is killing my mind.
     
  11. godfeast

    godfeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    59
    1
    16
    Male
    Florida
  12. KageBeast

    KageBeast Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,732
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012

    Feb 24, 2012
    1,732
    272
    173
    Male
    Twilight Town
    Hm I don't know of any other a2sd scripts aside from darktremors
     
  13. godfeast

    godfeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    59
    1
    16
    Male
    Florida
  14. B198301

    B198301 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    69
    9
    16
    which one did you use
     
  15. godfeast

    godfeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    59
    1
    16
    Male
    Florida
    intext script modified to work around gps issues ( its half way down the thread)

    I lost gps with the other, so i rolled with that one and its easy, fast, and stable for the hours ive played with it today.
     
  16. godfeast

    godfeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    59
    1
    16
    Male
    Florida
    Lost gps again today, so the int script is a no go for admire as far as I am concerned.

    Going to do the a2sd++ script as I understand it has no problems and is just as stable, if a tad slower at times.
     
  17. Spz0

    Spz0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    773
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012

    May 17, 2012
    773
    252
    113
    OR
    I used DT's a2SD on his main xda thread. worked fine on OA.2.3. Whatever Bor was doing was, well, flat out wrong whatever it was.
    I was slower than Link2SD, so I opted for that.
    Either way you are still going to have files left on your /data partition (cache files, symblinks). I suggest a fresh install on whatever ROM you're using, and using Link2SD.
    Watch out for /system updates as they will install to /data. You can use Link2SD to integrate updates to /system as well.
     
  18. godfeast

    godfeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    59
    1
    16
    Male
    Florida
    DT's worked but about several days into using it, it started saying I had no space left when I had a ton.

    If I knew a work around, I'd use it, but my issue with link2sd is that it just leaves so much behind that my phone cant install anywhere near the apps it should.

    I tried it when I first flashed my phone and I still ran out of internal memory after about 2 dozen apps.

    Is there a fix for the bug with DT that would keep it from reporting memory wrong?
     
  19. B198301

    B198301 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    69
    9
    16
    were you looking in settings/ application or the dt a2sd GUI from the market to see available space left?
     
  20. Spz0

    Spz0 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    773
    Joined:
    May 17, 2012

    May 17, 2012
    773
    252
    113
    OR
    dta2sd will still leave trace files and cache, just like link2sd.
    If you want to be able to store more than 2 dozen apps, u need to get a phone with more storage than 80Mb. =\
     
  21. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The following is general DT information. Make sure it works with your device before proceeding

    Su dta2sd repair
    Su dta2sd reinstall

    Type that into a terminal emulator. It should fix any issues.


    If dta2sd is working correctly with your device it should only leave a sym link to tell the phone where to find the app. You can move dalvik cache to the card as well to open up even more room.

    su dta2sd cachesd
     
  22. godfeast

    godfeast Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    59
    1
    16
    Male
    Florida
    Im beginning to think that Ive only actually gotten my sd-ext partition to mount a couple times when trying all of this.

    I downloaded a2sdgui and ran the script again twice (first said no sd-ext then ran and it basically acted as if my internal space was my sd-ext, saying the total available was 700mb instead of a gig).

    This is probably what happened before.

    NOW, what I would like to know is , what exactly mounts the sd-ext partition for the phone?

    Is it when init.d runs a script? Is it in init.rc? Is it some command that has to be kernel modded into the whole boot up sequence prior to dalvik being utilized?

    Whats this process and where can I go to start troubleshooting?
     

Share This Page

Loading...