1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root need help again. sorry..... splash screen.. again

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mbancroft, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    Ok I thried doing this through a cammand line no luck.. So now I am using the "Flash splash screen tool" posted by MR. ED. I got all the way to selecting an image the application and the tool doing its thing.. but my lame splash screen is still on my phone.... OK... 1)my custom and ones I have down loaded and tried are all 480x800 24 bit depth. 2) I have all the necessary drivers I.E. HTC and Hboot.. ( and they are working cause they remotely reboot my phone during this process)..... what am I doing wrong.. I been at this for 2 days....
    Here is the process in which I am trying this.. 1.Phone running normal 2.plug in to computer 3. open up splash flasher tool 4. begin splash select .bmp file 5. Is this your image? Yes. 6. tool does its thing my phone goes in to boot. 7. the tool reboots my phone and states complete.... and my lame splash screen is still there.... help me.. this process seems so simple why am I not getting it I feel like a duufuuusssssss
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Oooooooo.... what hboot do you have?


    That may be the problem...

    Oh... there is no reason to keep making new posts regarding this. I know it's a different issue but it's all splash screen related.


    OK so basically the flash tool should have done everything but flash it to the phone. Let me get my laptop and guide you from where you are now. We are going to create a zip so get 7zip if you don't have it... it's free.

    This will be easier than downgrading your hboot
     
    mbancroft likes this.
  3. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    yes i have it
     
  4. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    lol ive never made my own image but its starting to sound more difficult than it should be. I thought about trying it but im gonna wait till this thread develops lol. Please post what happens so others can learn. I always found the pc36img files and flashed them but this is good to know.
     
  5. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    where would i look to find my hboot version
     
  6. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    look in hboot at the top, its either .97, 2.02, or 2.10 i believe
     
  7. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    my hboot is 2.0.10.2
     
  8. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    that is on my PC.. are you looking for the version in hboot on my phone
     
  9. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    2.10 is my phone hboot
     
  10. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    lol i dont know which he was looking for thats mr. eds question i was just telling you where to find it on your phone lol. You covered both, good job...I was confused for a minute, i was like that wasnt even an option...
     
  11. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    yeah the hboot is keeping you from using the flash tool...

    ok look in the data folder that was part of that flash tool and pull out splash1 and splash1.img and put it on your desktop

    unzip another splas pc36img zip file (like the ones I posted in my thread about the tool) and pull out android-info and put it on your desktop...now multi select all three files and right click on them..choose 7zip, add to desktop.zip

    rename it to pc36img (make sure not to name is pc36img.zip.zip lol)

    put it on the root of your sd card and go back to that white screen bootloader on your phone and it should pick it up and ask if you want to install..choose yes.


    I am going to get a how to together soon but swamped right now. You can use that flash tool to at least convert everything and then package it up on your own like I just typed out.
     
    mbancroft, evomattnc and Xtremedays like this.
  12. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    what program should I use to open the file.
     
  13. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    open the file? No need to "open" any files. DL someone elses pc36img, extract/unzip and grab the info.txt and zip that .txt back up with your two splash files you created with the tool. Use 7zip to zip them back up. I use winrar but whatever.
     
    mbancroft likes this.
  14. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Well.... it's just a txt file so you could just create it

    modelid: PC3610000
    cidnum: SPCS_001
    mainver: 3.26.651.6
    hbootpreupdate:3
    DelCache: 0
    DelUserData:0

    Name the file. android-info.txt (not txt.txt)
     
    mbancroft likes this.
  15. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    LOL that probably is easier! :D way to be logical Mr. Ed
     
    mbancroft likes this.
  16. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    ok ... I love when I understand things.... thanks again guys.... I'll have to do it tomorrow. boss thinks I'm not working on any thing important right now.... lol.. he just dont understand.. thanks again
     
  17. mbancroft

    mbancroft Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    296
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    296
    13
    58
    yo
    yo
    hey for the future so I can use the tool like it was intended. " two click splasher"...not zip unzip.. and the whole process.... do you know if there is a thread some where on how to down grade hboot
     
  18. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    There is a thread about it BUT if you have 2.02 or 2.10 then I don't think you have downgrade it. I might be wrong here but I think you need 0.97 or lower to be able to downgrade.
     
  19. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    You can.. .I have done it. I will find the thread tonight after dinner.

    Its tricky and you MUST follow the directions
     
  20. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
  21. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    youdoofus JK LOLZ!!!!!
     
  22. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    dont mess with me doofus, i thought someone had a question about a splash screen again! lol there were like 5 of these in one day last week, must have been national i dont know how to flash a splash screen and want to make my own day lol. Thank you Mr. Ed for helping everyone. I had never made a splash screen of my own either. Now I can thanks to THE Mr. Ed.
     
  23. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    No, no, no.... i wasnt messin with-cha homey!!! I just saw the "i feel like such a doooofffffuuuusssss" thing in the original post and it made me laugh cus of my nick is all :) wasnt pointin it at you brotha. Youve been FAR more of a help to me than a detriment, and id not deliberately give you undue cr@p.... no offense intended, just tickled my funny bone is all :)
     
  24. evomattnc

    evomattnc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,245
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,245
    536
    213
    Mechanical Engineer for GE Nuclear
    NC
    LOL sorry i think my joke was lost in there...i was saying dont mess with me cuz i thought this splash screen thread was coming back :). Saw it had a new post, scrolled down and it wsa just you being a doofus :D. i didnt think you were actually messing with me, guess jokes are lost in text form...:(
     
  25. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    Gotcha homey :) i just thought i may have accidentally offended. Glad i didnt :D

    BTW, hows ESIII treatin ya? i loved ESII, but found that CM7 has some small nuances that i like enough for me to not leave it for another rom.... to be totally forthcoming, its the screen lock/unlock animations that hooked me.... I know its juat one of those "oooooooo SHINY!!" type of things, but is ESIII that much better than II as a daily driver?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...