1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Need help ASAP

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rolly32, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    Hey guys, I have a problem and I need a quick response. I rooted my HTC EVO 4g a while back, and I did a factory reset. Now when I turned on the phone and let it start up.. I get a HTC Sense force closure. How do I get rid of it? Did I brick my phone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Boot to recovery, wipe cache and wipe Dalvik cache, reboot
     
    Rolly32 likes this.
  3. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    I do not have Wipe Dalvik.. Im on ClockworkMod Recovery v3.0.0.5..

    Do I use Wipe Cache Partition or Wipe Data/Factory Reset?

    Thank you for your help!
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Under advanced, there will be something that says Wipe Dalvik cache.

    Wipe that and cache partition, then reboot
     
    Rolly32 likes this.
  5. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    I just did those 2, and I'm still getting the HTC FC error :(
     
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Are you on a specific rom?
     
    Rolly32 likes this.
  7. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    I'm not on any specific rom.. I just rooted a few months back, and didn't swap out roms after I rooted. I got Hboot 2.2, and on Clockwork.
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    So your phone boots up and then you get a constant HTC Sense force close?

    Do you Rom Manager installed? If so, then open up RM, then scroll down and press Fix Permissions
     
  9. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    Would going under the Backup and Restore under the clockwork recovery mode help anything by any chance?
     
  10. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you made a nandroid backup, you could try that. How recent is the nandroid?
     
  11. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    I'm afraid that backup is a few months old.. but I haven't flashed any roms or anything after that backup. I tried to fix permissions, but it didn't do anything. It still keep getting the constant FC on the HTC Sense.. it's like a loop basically..
     
  12. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Did you reboot after doing the Fix Permissions?

    Well, you could make a nandroid of your current setup, then after the nandroid is finished, go to restore and then restore the nandroid from a few months ago
     
    Rolly32 likes this.
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    try the old nandroid and see i it helps with the fc's. if not then try and flash a rom. o course make sure that you wipe data, dalvik cache and cache first before you flash a rom.
     
    Rolly32 likes this.
  14. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    I'm also stuck between a rock.. Should I do a wipe data/factory reset under clockworkmod recovery? or would that be digging a deeper hole?
     
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    That will not change the rom, it will wipe all existing data on the phone. Hence, data/factory reset. So, it wouldn't hurt anything
     
    Rolly32 likes this.
  16. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    Well, bad news guys.. I tried backing up the older image file, but it wasen't there. I'm running out of options.
     
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    You could put a new rom on your sd card either using a card reader or using hboot usb, then put MikG v2.5 on your sd card and then flash a new rom

    MikG v2.5 Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!


    Then boot to recovery
    Wipe data/factory reset
    Wipe cache partition
    Go to advanced and wipe Dalvik cache
    Wipe boot
    Wipe system

    Then go to 'Install zip from sd card'

    Find MikG v2.5

    Flash rom

    Reboot
     
    Rolly32 and ocnbrze like this.
  18. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    Rolly32 and andygu3 like this.
  19. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    I really appreciate all your help guys!

    I just thought of something. Before I did a factory reset, I had some bloatware apps that I removed, and I might have had like 2 apps that I froze with titanium backup.. If I flash a new rom, more than likely it should work correct?
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    correct. its like starting over.
     
    Rolly32 likes this.
  21. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    Woah!! It workedd! Thank you ocnbrze, and andygu3 for all your help and hardwork! During the process, I got to learn more about flashing roms and recoveries. Thanks for your help guys!
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  22. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    nice glad it worked for your. now do not forget to make a nandroid backup. and now go and get your flash on.:D
     
  23. Rolly32

    Rolly32 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    26
    5
    16
    South Texas
    So I was looking through themik roms official website, and before I rooted, i was on 2.2 froyo.. would it be best to flash the rom to their MikFroYo4.6x rom? or stay with my MikG2.5 rom?

    There is nothing wrong with the MikG2.5 rom that I'm on, but I was wondering if I was supposed to put a froyo rom with my 2.2 froyo.. If so, I already created a nandroid backup of my system and ready to flash. But if I'm okay with what I got, then I won't bother :)
     
  24. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    so with each official ota (over the air) update like froyo or gingerbread. what they really are three things.
    1.they are a software update.
    2.they usually will have radio updates.
    3.and they will also change the hboot.

    now that you are rooted these things do not really apply to you. your software version will change always depending on what rom you flash. so if you want to go back to froyo all you would have to do is flash a froyo rom. but why do that? i actually like gingerbread a lot. especially the new sense roms.

    as far as your radios are concerned that will be up to you. it is not necessary to upgrade them. however, many people have noticed better radio signal and thus better battery life. i planning on updating my radios to the latest 4.53 ota radios this weekend.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...