1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Need Help Getting Rid Of Write Protect In /system

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by sjoerdtop, Jul 13, 2016.

  1. sjoerdtop

    sjoerdtop Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Male
    I'm using a Huawei g7 and i'm trying to install busybox but i keep getting an error

    i'm a 100% sure this is because there is some wierd write protection on /system. i know this because everytime i try to change it to rw in es explorer it changes back to ro when i close to app.

    I also tried some terminal commands but with no luck so far.

    Any help would be appreciated
     

    Advertisement

  2. eshieldsvx4

    eshieldsvx4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    99
    41
    53
    Male
    Based on your request, I'm assuming you have root access. Otherwise you wouldn't be able to access the EStrongs Root Explorer.

    [​IMG]

    Is this what you meant?

    Huawei devices require an extra step to unlock read write abilities. You can flash an add-on atop your ROM installation.

    I suggest if this continues to give you trouble, try packing the busybox binaries in a flashable zip file. You can also manually mount /system during a recovery boot. If it fails there, you did not install an up to date SU binary.

    If it DOES mount, you can try the zip. Then I suggest you try enabling su requests at boot.

    [​IMG]
     
    El Presidente and scary alien like this.
  3. sjoerdtop

    sjoerdtop Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Male
    Yes my device is rooted and i'm using the root explorer. Could you give me a bit more info on how to flash an add-on atop my ROM installation?
     
  4. sjoerdtop

    sjoerdtop Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Male
    And with the recovery boot i only get the option to update from sd or to reboot the device.
    Unless you mean a recovery boot that isn't holding down the Volume+ and Power button?
     
  5. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,666
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Did you try disabling mount namespace separation?
     
  6. sjoerdtop

    sjoerdtop Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Male
    No, Could you please explain how to do that?

    Thanks!
     
  7. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,666
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Do you have SuperSu installed?
     
  8. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,666
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    Did you use a "one-click" app to root by any chance?
     
  9. eshieldsvx4

    eshieldsvx4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    99
    41
    53
    Male
    I don't or haven't owned a Huawei device. I don't know how to access Recovery or Bootloader upon power up.
     
  10. eshieldsvx4

    eshieldsvx4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    99
    41
    53
    Male
    I cropped that option but its in the screenshot I put up. It directs where su binaries are installed.

    So instead of it being a bad install, it's just in a bad spot. Check or uncheck the "Mount Namespace Separation" and see what works better when you replicate your situation each time.
     
  11. sjoerdtop

    sjoerdtop Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016

    Jul 13, 2016
    5
    0
    15
    Male
    Yes i used Kingroot.

    So i tried to use SuperSu but the Binary install failed. I'm not sure what went wrong since it doesn't give any other error messages. The thing is though could it be that SuperSU isn't installing because of the fact that i can't write any data to /system?
     
    #11 sjoerdtop, Jul 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
  12. Bg260

    Bg260  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #32
    Points:
    763
    Posts:
    3,538
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016

    Apr 30, 2016
    3,538
    3,666
    763
    Male
    Freelance Entrepreneur
    Lincoln
    The problem is that I suspect you have a locked bootloader, still. Did you remove Kinguser? Did you send for the bootloader unlock key? Sounds like you need to be careful about what you do next.

    Here is a thread from yesterday with an almost identical issue. I still don't think they solved it.

    http://androidforums.com/threads/cant-remount-system-as-r-w-huawey-y6.1048625/#post-7337042

    I think Kingroot is a scourge, BTW. Not your fault. It is very misleading.
     

Share This Page

Loading...