1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Need help: Install ClockWorkMod Recovery through Terminal Emulator.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by meet5000, Jun 7, 2012.

  1. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    I want to install custom recovery through Terminal Emulator but I don't own a PC. I'm afriad of doing experiments on my first Smartphone.

    Can please someone give me a step by step guide?
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Do you have a custom recovery already installed? If so it's actually pretty easy to change the recovery. Rename the recovery to recovery.img (this will make it easy to get the name right when you type in the code). If you already have a recovery on the SD card with that name, rename it to whatever the first letter is in the name, then recovery.img. Example: I renamed the Xionia recovery to xrecovery.img. I have several recovery's on the sd card but by renaming them in this manner I can easily flash anyone one I want without having to look on the sd card first or change names around.

    Next open up the terminal emulator that you downloaded from the PlayStore.
    Type in: su (then hit the enter key)
    You will get a Superuser prompt, select accept/allow. Go to the menu and select toggle soft key board.

    Now type in: flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img (or whatever you renamed the recovery to),(hit the enter key).
    That's it.
    You might get a stream of almost identical looking code after hitting the enter key, this is normal. As long as you got no error message's in the code and you got a # at the end, then you can type in this:
    reboot recovery (hit the enter key).
    This will take you to your new recovery's menu screen.

    If this is going to be your first custom recovery, let me know. I'll get you hooked right up. Installing it from a terminal emulator of by using the Flash Image GUI is pretty simple and does not require the use of a PC.
     
    meet5000 likes this.
  3. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    Hello Mr. Guide,

    I don't have custom recovery already installed. It's my first CR.
     
  4. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
  5. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Sorry, I almost forgot! The first thing we are going to have to do is determine what Net you have. The P690 or the L45C.
     
  6. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    LG Optimus Net P690
     
  7. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    meet5000 likes this.
  8. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    Hey I see this line:

    You can see the sign of "greater than" between ...../flash_image and /system/bin.....

    Is that a mistake? :thinking:
     
  9. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    I found only flash_image file in attachments at the xda thread you proveded but didn't find recovery image.


    EDIT: Found it :)
     
  10. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    Yay!! Yes! :D

    I just did it!!!
    I'm very happy :)

    Hey, do you know the button combination for booting into recovery?

    And yes, do I need to factory reset(wipe data) my phone via CWM?

    Thanks!
     
  11. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    Hi AndyOpie,

    I'm posting a thread (guide) for rooting and installing CWM on P690 in all things root area.
    Can you please make it sticky?

    Thanks?
     
  12. akashash5

    akashash5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    46
    10
    18
    button combination is most likely power+volume up+home(long press at the same time)
    An easier way is to type su followed by reboot recovery in terminal emulator app.
    There is no need for factory reset if you don't want to.
     
  13. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Sorry for the delay. I was experiencing technical difficulties.
    Glad you got it figured out. Guide is now in the ATR Guide sticky.

    Now that your rooted and have a custom recovery you must never use the factory reset from the phones menu as it will brick your phone. You can only use the one in the recovery, which erase's all user data. It doesn't fix any changes you made to the system. For that you need to restore the backup you made in the recovery in "backup and restore" section. If you haven't already made a backup in the recovery (this is called a nandroid backup), do so. This is very important.
     
  14. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    Hi AndyOpie,

    So, I should do factory reset always from recovery whenever I want to, right?

    Please, tell me what should I backup now?
    and do I need to do factory reset throught recovery? :thinking:
     
  15. akashash5

    akashash5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    46
    10
    18
    You should use recovery to make a nandroid backup of your current rom .
     
  16. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    Oh sorry!
    I'm not currently planning to install custom ROM :)
     
  17. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Now that you are rooted (this means you have root access to your system files) you can accidentally delete something that will cause a system process to forceclose or worse! Making a backup of your current system/ROM is like having a restore point on a PC. If you mess up something really bad (it happens to even the most seasoned modder) then all you have to do is go to your recovery and after wiping and formatting everything necessary for a ROM install (you need to read through some ROM install procedures for your phone) go to the "backup and restore section" and select restore. When it is done and you have booted back in to the restored ROM/system it will be just as when you made the backup. The backup is stored in a folder on the sd card named "clockworkmod". The backup will have a date/time stamp.

    Hint: When you make any major changes or get a lot of app updates you need to go back into the recovery and make a backup. Then go to the sd card and delete the old backup if you need the space on the sd card.

    No backup means, when you mess up (everybody does, and more than once) then you will be stuck with a system forceclosure, a useless system/ROM due to massive forceclosure's or worse.

    A custom recovery is your best friend. If you take full advantage of it you will not be able to mess up anything bad enough that you can't straighten out with your recovery, except ONE: WARNING WARNING Now That You Are Rooted Do Not Ever Use The Factory Reset Option In The Phone Menu: It Will Brick Your Phone.

    The only time you need to use the "wipe data/factory reset" option in the recovery is if you want to wipe all user data from the current ROM (weather it be the stock ROM or a custom ROM, it makes no difference). This does not take the phone back to original out of the box look if you have a custom ROM installed, it only wipes all user data from the installed ROM. To revert back to a stock ROM after having a custom ROM you must follow a guide for doing so.

    Hopefully this has cleared up your slight confusion. We are here if you have any more questions.
     
    meet5000 likes this.
  18. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    Hi AndyOpie,

    Thanks for the hint.

    Should I go to recovery and direct hit 'Backup' in backup/restore area? :thinking:

    I'm asking about this because I've read somewhere that Nandroid backup may currupt my boot image. But I don't think it's true.

    And yeah, how much space do I need on SD Card?
    I own a 2GB SD Card and I've 1.2 GB free space.

    Thanks :)
     
  19. akashash5

    akashash5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    46
    10
    18
    Backup will most likely be 500 to 900 MB depending on the no. Of apps installed
     
  20. meet5000

    meet5000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012

    Feb 17, 2012
    136
    31
    43
    Male
    Software Developer
    India
    My PC is gone for a repair and will come tomorrow.
    When it will come, I'll perform a backup and will move the whole backup to the PC :)
     
  21. hangover68

    hangover68 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012

    Jun 14, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Melbourne, Australia
    I have been trying to follow this guide to install the recovery but i all i get is "flash_image " not found, i'm using the same image and flash image files from XDA. Also tried QtADB but it keeps crashing when i try to get phone info even though i can get a screenshot ok ?
     
  22. akashash5

    akashash5 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    46
    10
    18
    Make sure flash_image is in sdcard/ Also one of the commands gives file not found but not sure if this is the one.
     
  23. hangover68

    hangover68 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012

    Jun 14, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Melbourne, Australia
    I followed that guide exactly , i tried with flash_image in a folder as extracted and just the file without folder in root of sd card.
     
  24. chiptam

    chiptam Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013

    Jan 28, 2013
    4
    0
    25
    i can't download the emulator from goggle play because i can't access my google account since everything is hooked up through my phone which is dead (white screen)is there any other way to obtain emulator?and other files needed to get my phone working again?please help been at this all morning with no help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...