• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Need help installing a bigger card post root

pasternak

Lurker
Aug 16, 2011
Noob here. I rooted an evo 4g running gb with an overstuffed 8gb mini sd card. I accomplished s-off. And after cramming a nandroid backup into my existing 8gb card it occurred to me that I probably don't have room left to flash rom. So I bought a 16gb card. Now I am wondering what to do next. Can I just copy the contents of my smaller card to the bigger card and fly? Do I need to make a gold card (I've seen references to this but can't find instructions for making one). What...? I am lost.

Morgan

Noob here. I rooted an evo 4g running gb with an overstuffed 8gb mini sd card. I accomplished s-off. And after cramming a nandroid backup into my existing 8gb card it occurred to me that I probably don't have room left to flash rom. So I bought a 16gb card. Now I am wondering what to do next. Can I just copy the contents of my smaller card to the bigger card and fly? Do I need to make a gold card (I've seen references to this but can't find instructions for making one). What...? I am lost.

Morgan

You can copy it. Should keep everything intact. Never heard of a gold card... weird.

Also, good luck. The sd cards are wedged so far in there... damn near impossible to get out. I tried once, gave up ten minutes later lol.

Reactions: pasternak
Upvote 0
You can copy it. Should keep everything intact. Never heard of a gold card... weird.

Also, good luck. The sd cards are wedged so far in there... damn near impossible to get out. I tried once, gave up ten minutes later lol.

a gold card is used to root certain phones, but not the evo. i use tweezers to get mine out. and as far as your new card it is pretty easy to do. just copy your content of the 8g to the computer take the 8g out and insert the 16g card into your phone. and copy the content back over to the 16g card. easy peasy.