1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Need help installing Astro

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Charm777, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. Charm777

    Charm777 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Hey Guys, Please help, my x8 wont open market and am desperate to install astro manager. I have the file on the SD but i dont know how to view file on the phone. As there is no file explorer. How do I install that file from SD?

    thanking you in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India

    use your pc mate

    first on your phone

    firs go to settings->
    and turn on UNKNOWN SOURCES

    THAN

    go to settings->applications->development
    turn usb debugging on

    now connect your phone to your pc
    copy the astro file anywhere you want


    download the attachment
    extract all three files to your windows/system32
    open CMD
    type

    adb install /path/name.apk

    for example if your apk name is ASTRO.apk and is in C:/ DRIVE

    do this

    adb install c:\astro.apk

    make sure the path or file name have no spaces
     

    Attached Files:

    • adb.zip
      File size:
      291.5 KB
      Views:
      145
    Charm777 likes this.
  3. Charm777

    Charm777 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    thanks for the info suhel28
     
  4. pedz

    pedz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    Hi, i have followed the steps but i'm having an error.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    hope anybody can help me. thank you
     
  5. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India

    What error?
     
  6. Lupajz

    Lupajz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    First of all path should be something like
    adb install c:\a.apk
    and for the second i dunno what are you getting error in adb devices command o_O
     
  7. pedz

    pedz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    @ suhel28: it says adb is not recognize as an external or internal command and some other errors I include the image on my first post.

    @lupazj: does my PC OS made the conflict or the Anti Virus? im using windows 7 64- bit and kaspersky for my AV.
     
  8. Lupajz

    Lupajz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Did you rebooted it ? :)
    Download SuperOneClick software (you can find it here in some topic) and try to copy those 3 files from this soft. they are included in the root of the programme as you unzip it ;)
     
  9. pedz

    pedz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    thanks lupajz, but it just made me confuse, Is there an easy way to install astro on x8? hope you have a tutorial here. I've been browsing all over the net but i fell like im going from link to another link.
     
  10. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India
    uhmm,,, why don't you download it from the market???
    or
    why don't you use your browser, google it and install it?
    or
    if you are using WIN7 than make a new folder, put those three files, cd the path and than try the command.
     
  11. pedz

    pedz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    5
    0
    5

    Hi suhel,It just happen that the x8 that i've purchased here in middle east don't have the android market, what I mean when I said i'm confused that evry time I googled it, some other websites giving links to other websites after you go to that websites they will give you link to another one, and some saying to install sdk , some says about rooting which really I dont understand. I'm sorry for the bother.:(

    what do you mean by cd the path?
     
  12. suhel28

    suhel28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    693
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    693
    307
    133
    Siemens
    India
    googling is an art.....

    ok here am I first search on google and I got the direct link (well I can post it up, its a freeware software)

    astro 2.5.2.apk


    ok in order to run android market in middle east you can try this...

    1. market
    http://bit.ly/newmarketprefroyo

    2. market enabler
    http://market-enabler.googlecode.com/files/MarketEnabler_3.0_beta.apk

    enable market enabler and your market will work

    PS : ALL ARE FREEWARES SO I CAN POST EM
     
    pedz likes this.
  13. pedz

    pedz Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    thank you so much suhel, at least now I know where to start. yup googling is an art if you know what you are looking for.
     
  14. osullivr

    osullivr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011

    Sep 23, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    hey

    think u are using the incorrect filepath

    when running the code

    use the location of the .apk file on ur phone, not on ur PC
     

Share This Page

Loading...