1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Need Help - Language issue

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Swede00, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. Swede00

    Swede00 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hi Guys,

    I need your help. Just Switched from i4 to a Galaxy S2. Thing is i am a Swede living in Shanghai. So today i picked up a unlocked Hong Kong Galaxy S2.

    Now to the problem - I have downloaded Swedish language pack and and also for input when writing messages. Totally i say some 3 different apps from Android Market. But after installation i just can't find the language pack anyway. Just shows up the languages the phone came with.

    What am i doing wrong?
     

    Advertisement

  2. DaveSyd

    DaveSyd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    428
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    428
    62
    53
    Australia
    It may be that it cannot display menus and programs in Swedish with the language pack you installed but it can set a Swedish keyboard language.

    Go to settings, Lanuage and Keyboard, Select input method... Do you see anything different there than before. Is there an additional option? The standard is Samsung Keypad and Swye, and anything else that is added. On the same menu there is settings for Swype, settings for Samsung Keypad and a similar option for any other keyboard you have added. Inside these settings there is also language selection list for the keyboard as compared to the UI has swedish been added there?
     
  3. Swede00

    Swede00 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hi Dave,

    No, nothing added. I have downloaded a couple of apps for swedish keypad and nothing bites. Just isn't there even if apps shows as installed.

    Is this where i start thinking of rooting it?

    Thanks
    Dennis
     
  4. Swede00

    Swede00 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Did it. Rooted it and got all languages. Fixed.
     
  5. DaveSyd

    DaveSyd Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    428
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    428
    62
    53
    Australia
    Hmmmm... I haven't gone down the road of rooting the phone yet for fear of losing the warranty. Did you actually load different firmware to the phone or simply rooted to get access to what was already on the ROM?
     

Share This Page

Loading...